We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Norblad Hotel Hostel...a Pleasant Surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Norblad Hotel And Hostel
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Whitecourt, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Norblad Hotel Hostel...a Pleasant Surprise!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

After arriving in Astoria at 9pm after being on a motorcycle since the Canadian border, we needed to find a room fast. We could only find two vacancies in the whole city...and the Norblad was one of them. We hesitated at first because of the shared bathroom (we have stayed at a lot of hostels), but we were desperate and needed a place on a budget. Thank goodness we chose to stay! The lady at the front desk was wonderful and pleasant to deal with! The room was freshly renovated and beautifully but simply decorated. A very comfortable bed, and a sink and towels in the room. You can't beat the location, centrally located, easy to find off the main road, lots of parking, and within walking distance of the pier and the Flavel Museum. Only a short drive to the Goonies house. The building is secure and quiet. The shared bathroom and showers were clean. You can't ask for more. Only a block from the Fort George Brewery...very convenient. And a coffee shop close by that opens early. Would stay here again no questions asked.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WndrwmnDiver O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    28
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
44
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ingolstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

The Hotel is newly renovated and now called "Norblad". The rooms were nice and clean, also the showers. There are sinks in every room, showers shared on the floor. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Althogh there was no breakfast, it is not a big problem, as local cafes are just ariund the corner.
The best you can get for a low-prized hotel. The Hotel of choice in Astoia!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christoph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed at the Norblad Hotel/Hostel (previously called the HideAway) because we couldn't get a room at their "sister" hotel, the Commodore. Honestly, I'm glad I didn't spend the extra money for the Commodore. The Norblad is on the same street and right across from a fantastic brewery (Fort George Brewery). We loved our room. It was very big, clean, had beautiful hardwood floors and a nice little table/chairs area for having coffee. Great simple, modern decor. We had a corner room, so it got great light.

The bathrooms were plentiful and clean. There were bathrooms with just a toilet and sink, and other rooms with just a shower. When you had either room, it was all yours. There was also a coin-op laundry room. There were no refrigerators available as far as I could tell, and no ice. The wireless connection from the hotel was spotty, but I was able to get onto some other wireless network with no problem. Previous reviews mentioned noise. We could hear other guests coming and going, and a bit of traffic noise from the street, but we weren't bothered by it. I guess the traffic noise could be much worse on a weekday -- we stayed on a Saturday night. Parking on the street was free after 6 p.m., and we got a spot right out front.

The woman who checked us in, Debbie, was above-and-beyond helpful. She had lots of recommendations of where to eat, and steered us in the perfect direction by suggesting the Fort George Brewery. After we checked in, there was a group of travelers there trying to get a room. Even though the Norblad was booked, Debbie called around to other hotels for them to try to find them an affordable room somewhere else.

We would definitely stay here again, and wished we could have spent more time exploring Astoria. Seemed like a great town with a lot of cool stuff going on.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KD_Spring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I believe the Norblad is undergoing a complete renovation in 2013. We stayed in a newly renovated suite room. The Norblad is a bit of a hostel/shared facilities place with some private rooms that have their own bathroom. That said everything was very clean. Things were a little bit on the spartan side but I attribute that to the fact that our room only became 'finished' a week or so prior. But even so, if it were to remain as spartan I think it goes with the type of lodging it is. The bed was comfy and the covers and comforter very soft and plush. Shower was nice overhead type rain-shower style for a person under 6'. Wood floor was nice, TV had full cable channels. Given it is right next to Ft. George brewery it is an excellent spot. Our room had a view to see the river and bridge actually, looking out across the tops of other buildings. I think it was an excellent value. The front desk person was also very helpful and cheerful.

I cannot speak to how the shared facilities are or how it may be if there were other people there and how their behavior would be with shared accommodations but that is a challenge as one drunk or loud person can be a bad apple that the staff will have to manage.

This would be a great place for people looking to crash after an event at Forge George Brewery, who were on a bike or hike trip looking for cheaper accommodations and to do laundry or other things like that. Probably would not consider it a specifically good place for a family to stay but you could. There was some street noise but it tailed off around midnight. But I believe the hotel discloses this as a potential issue when you book--its just part of staying there as they cannot be responsible for drunk people being loud out on the street.

Room Tip: Ask for a private suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cascadeswater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Showed up with my bicycle. They gladly gave me a room at a decent price. Room was good(comfy bed, tv, refrigerator). The problems arose as the sun went down. Quiet hours were not enforced and many guests were drunk and hollering in the halls well into the night. The kitchen also had few or any cookware.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Runcdub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We are long-distance cycle tourists and this hotel (now called Norblad) is great for backpackers and cyclists. There is a kitchen, a locked room in which you can store your bikes, a laundry on site, good clean shower, a fairly spacious bedroom and the price is good.

Don't be put off by the fact that you have to carry your bike up just 1 flight of stairs; the locked upboard is right there on the landing, and I don't think you could do better than this hotel when travelling on a budget.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RogDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
183 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2009

When we got to the address of the Astoria Hideaway Hotel we found a hotel named The Norblad. They had our reservations, so perhaps there has been a name change along the way(?). This place definitely has a hostel feel to it. It's a place you can find a tattooed and pierced young man talking to guy visiting from Europe. Many rooms you have to share a bedroom and a bathroom, but there are four rooms that have a private bath and two that share a bath. We stayed in the York room, which had a private bath, refrigerator, sofa, air purifier, and TV. I didn't see any AC, but when we were there, opening a window was all we needed. There were no screens, but the blinds kept out any bugs.

The hotel had a community feel to it and we found it was quieter than expected, the sheets and towels were clean, and the bed was soft.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NPS_Tumbleweeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Astoria hotels
1.2 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Commodore Hotel
Commodore Hotel
#8 of 14 in Astoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#7 of 14 in Astoria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Elliott
Hotel Elliott
#5 of 14 in Astoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norblad Hotel And Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norblad Hotel And Hostel

Property: Norblad Hotel And Hostel
Address: 443 14th St, Astoria, OR 97103-3911 (Formerly HideAway Inn and Hostel)
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Norblad Hotel And Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hideaway Hotel Astoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing