We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wine tasting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shallon Winery

Shallon Winery
Ranked #17 of 44 things to do in Astoria
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Shallon Winery is a very small, one-man operation that is open every afternoon, one to six PM, and has been for over 35 years. It, therefore, has to specialize in unique products unavailable elsewhere, such as totally wild berry wines, whey wines, Lemon Meringue Pie wine, and, Chocolate Orange wine. It is a working, functioning winery, not a wine shop.The winemaker prefers a one on one relation with his guests, which entails a brief visit and explanation in the wine making room, followed by tasting all the wines available in a sequence. Local historical information is usually included in the presentation. This visit may run from a minimum of a half hour to an hour or more depending on questions and conversation. Unfortunately, the winery can not afford to entertain larger groups, and frequently is closed to the walk-in public during the days of cruise ship arrivals. However, serious individuals or couples may call during the day for a suggestion for the best time, or just call the number when at the door, if it is not open.
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“wine tasting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Hi Paul, we were at your winery on the 25 of July, Denis and Lorraine Comeau, thought your presentation was great, well informned, and if people are so much in a hurry to spend a little time with you, then that is their problem and their loss. Loved my samples and of course we have not tried the chocolate wine yet. Take care,

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank 9Lorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    10
    2
    0
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Taylorsville, Utah
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Must do...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Ditto to the other comments. This is very! Different. He is wonderful. Be patient, attentive and soak in the information. People like this are hard to find. His wines defy description or category. If your wine world is limited to the top 3 varieties, skip this winery. You won't get it. If you walk into a wine store and take chances...try something just for the heck of it... This is you're kinda treat.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Get some history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

We had a very interesting visit with the vintner and had his specialty wines. He knows all about the area and can help you find some of the sites and eateries in the area.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank razzlinsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, co
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“i <3 paul!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

this winery is pretty damn skippy... where do i begin?

perhaps with a preface that IF you've never been here before... DO NOT expect the usual kind of "i'm going to go wine tasting" experience that you may have already programmed in your head from the handful or hundreds or thousands of wine tasting experiences that you've already had. shallon is so unique and different from any of them. and PAUL!!! you are a treasure!!!... also i preface DO NOT expect the usual kind of wine tasting aficionado to be poring you those "shots" of wine. paul is not only a wine maker, he is a historian, a scientist, a researcher, an artist, a comedian, and not last or least... a gracious gracious host! you feel as if you've been specially invited into his home... to partake in something that he loves to do... and that he has so much care and knowledge to share about. we didn't plan to be there long... but paul is quite the charmer... in his mind-spinning "needle off the record" wonderful way... and you end up wanting to hang out with him into the evening! (i wish we had invited you to come to dinner with us, paul! when we're back for our 1st anniversary... we're going to kidnap you and take you out to dinner! and BTW, bridge water bistro was marvelous! ;)

as for shallon wines... i wanted to buy a whole bunch of all of them, but i totally forgot that shallon only takes cash or checks... and we only had enough money to buy 2 bottles. (we're going to get a hold of you, paul, and see if we can have more shipped to us though!) paul is so honest and straight forward with you... he'll tell you where the flaws are in one thing or where he wanted to go with one but ended up with this other thing... i think that's what makes them all so special. paul helps you be involved in the process of the wines (even when it comes to the labeling of them)... not just how they taste at the end of the process. paul definitely hit the nose with the nail gun with most of them... and again... NOT WHAT YOU WOULD EXPECT from a wine tasting. REALLY REALLY DIFFERENT... and REALLY REALLY A TREAT!!!

again, come with no preconceived notions... with some time on your hands... and CASH! with that you'll be ALL SET!!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosemarie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Don't miss it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

I had read most of the reviews prior to going, which I recommend doing first! This is a place that requires patience and time, and with a little of both, you will really enjoy yourself! The winemaker isn't rude or unfriendly, in fact, he is so interested in giving each guest his full attention that he won't entertain a large group, and if his tasting room is full, he will "Close" until he can give the next customer the full experience. Knowing this in advance is important! We planned a few things to do, in case he was busy. In fact, he had a sign on the door that he'd be opening later, so we walked on over to the Heritage Museum, enjoyed that, came back, and he was open! I enjoyed his unusual fruit wines, was fascinated in his stories, explanations and quirks, and felt appreciated by him. We bought the chocolate orange wine, which is unlike anything I have ever seen or tried. So different! Don't miss out on this unique experience!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shallon Winery also viewed

 

Been to Shallon Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing