We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst experience in a very long time!”
Review of Shallon Winery

Shallon Winery
Ranked #18 of 51 things to do in Astoria
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Shallon Winery is a very small, one-man operation that is open every afternoon, one to six PM, and has been for over 35 years. It, therefore, has to specialize in unique products unavailable elsewhere, such as totally wild berry wines, whey wines, Lemon Meringue Pie wine, and, Chocolate Orange wine. It is a working, functioning winery, not a wine shop.The winemaker prefers a one on one relation with his guests, which entails a brief visit and explanation in the wine making room, followed by tasting all the wines available in a sequence. Local historical information is usually included in the presentation. This visit may run from a minimum of a half hour to an hour or more depending on questions and conversation. Unfortunately, the winery can not afford to entertain larger groups, and frequently is closed to the walk-in public during the days of cruise ship arrivals. However, serious individuals or couples may call during the day for a suggestion for the best time, or just call the number when at the door, if it is not open.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

I honestly have never met a "winemaker" so rude in my life. He should not be in the industry. RUDE from the moment of contact until walking out the door only to return to tell him just how rude he was Drove up the coast to purchase a bottle for friends who know, understand and love wine. To be told he would not sell us a bottle without waiting for a tour and taste. After that experience who would want either.

7  Thank Disap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAUL V, Owner at Shallon Winery, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2012

I am sorry you took offense at the winery procedure.
It is not my intention to be discourteous.
I am a one-man winery and devote my total attention to each guest group, from a five minute view of the winery through a sequential tasting of the wines. I decline to interrupt the current guests for a fast sale. Other than a small sign on the door to indicate this, I haven’t yet thought of a way to allay the outrageous rude anger at the rejection. Fortunately, this has happened a very few times in the last thirty two years.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
There are newer reviews for Shallon Winery
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 51 of 66 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2012

My husband I love this winery, there is one elderly man that runs it, he is very nice and knows everything about wine. When you get there he will give you a free wine tasting and at the end he'll serve you his chocolate orange wine in a mini ice cream cone. The wines are all reasonably priced and very taste.

Thank Heidi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Yes. Please read all the reviews as Shallon Winery is much different than what one might think or envision when thinking about wine or wine tasting. First of all, just know and realize, the experience is taken very seriously and personally by the winery owner, Paul. However, just because he takes his business serious does not mean the experience is stuff. I write this review in a tongue in cheek manner. The experience was fantastic and nothing I expected or could have expected...ever. I am definitely a wine consumer, go to winery tastings every couple months, and am opening a wine bar in the next few weeks. This blew me away. I don't want to give the experience away, but go in with no expectations...it really is quite best. The wine itself is made from entirely fruit...it's not necessarily sweet however. It is very interesting and although not to my palates liking, is something quite different that I can appreciate saying I've tried and have had now. The experience is the owner Paul. He's the cross between Willy Wonka ala Johnny Depp style and a nutty professor. I'm not sure how old Paul is, but he's sharp as a tack and extremely interesting and quirky. My girlfriend had a perma grin the entire time there listening to him rattle of facts, history, and about his wine. And the lively banter was worth every penny of a bottle of his chocolate orange wine. After, I recommend walking a block west to Fort George Brewing for some great beer and pick yourself up a freshly baked loaf from the bakery next store.

3  Thank tahaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

If you enjoy wine, wit, whimsy and real people with real stories you must make this your first stop in Astoria. If you are on a Napa Valley-style 25 wineries in one day tour skip Shallon. In fact, skip the whole Oregon Wine industry. If you want to meet a person who pours their heart and soul in every glass and who savors stories and lavishes attention on those in front of him, you have come to the right place. Like their creator, Shallon wines are unique in the world. Come with an open mind and prepare to be educated, amused and bemused. While you are there know that, in a world rushing to watch American Idol and wolf own McRib sandwiches that brilliant masterworks are not created at microwave speeds. At Shallon, you are in the presence of a Willie Wonka like genius who dares go where others fear to/have never tread and who extracts greatness from fruits and grapes and who excels at bringing out the best in people and in his products so build a bit of time into your schedule, bring and share your opinions and, as Steve Jobs said, be thankful for those who "Think Different."

4  Thank Mark_Kronquist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAUL V, Owner at Shallon Winery, responded to this reviewResponded February 29, 2012

Thank you. I am overwhelmed by your effusive kind words, but I fear that guests inspired to visit from your comments, will say, “What’s so great about all that?”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

My traveling companion had touted their chocolate orange wine so we had to squeeze in a stop. I'm glad we did. Paul van der Veldt, the owner and winemaker, is quirky and passionate about whey and wine and why they go together. I fell for the Fort Astoria Spiced Apple wine (good hot or cold) but could easily have added one or two other varieties to the bag.

Allow at least 45 minutes for the tour and tasting (you have to do both) and remember to bring cash or check. The sign says 1-6 p.m. daily but Mr. van der Veldt is now in his 80s so you might want to call or e-mail to make sure the winery is open.

3  Thank NinaV8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAUL V, Owner at Shallon Winery, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2012

Thank you so much for the nice review. And thanks for the advice to the next guest, so that they can be warned of to the eccentricities of this one-man operation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shallon Winery also viewed

 
Astoria, Oregon Coast
Astoria, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Shallon Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing