We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made out trip special”
Review of Benjamin Young Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Astoria
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Benjamin Young Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Astoria B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 22, 2010

We were not planning on staying in Astoria but then after a good meal we decided to look for a place. We found Benjamin young on tripadvisor and made a reservation. Caroline, the innkeeper was so wonderful. She was helpful and made us feel as though we were at a home and not a b & b. The house is beautiful and is right down the street from the goonies house!!

After a great sleep we met for breakfast with the other hotel guest and the neighbors. They were the best, we had a great conversation and they were so knowledgeable. We had a blast with them. They really made our trip to astoria one special time. Caroline and the inn were a sure recommendation.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kens183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
There are newer reviews for Benjamin Young Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 39 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2010

We stayed in the Rose Room for $100, with an excellent view of the Columbia River and Astoria's handsome bridge. The most expensive rooms are larger, but don't have better views, though I really liked the Honeymoon Room with it's cupola seating area mostly surrounded by windows. All of the rooms are nicely but not luxuriously decorated. Authenticity for a late 1800's home is the idea. The windows are original antique glass which allows some extra noise. It looked like the inn was getting ready for some new paint in the next year or two, but overall the condition was very good. The Comfort Inn and Suites isn't the greatest addition to the view, but I was glad to be getting a much better value than the guests down in that drab building with the chain fence separating them from the water. (It's a block and half away.) You can hear sea lions 24 hours a day and get some traffic noise during the mornings from the highway one block away. The host was attentive and pleasant. Some nice touches are the original photos and a wonderful ca. 1880 painting of the Benjamin Young family, prominently displayed in the living room. Astoria has some VERY tough competition in the B&B field, and this inn may not be at the very top, but we had a very nice visit. In most towns, this would be far and away the very best.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Everjoyful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2010

We stayed at the Benjamin Young one night while traveling from the Bay Area to Seattle. The historic building is well kept up and elegantly appointed. Room, bed, and bath were first-rate and comfortable. The proprietor was amiable and helpful. Breakfast, while not robust, was good. The home is convenient to the waterfront, where it easy to walk on the pier, see the sea lions, boats, river, etc. The Lewis and Clark sites are within easy driving distance.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Redwheelbarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2009

Our first experience of the US and wanted somewhere quiet, yet elegant, which you only find with a B&B. The host was gracious and helpful. The home is fabulous, with it's high ceilings, timber fittings, staircase,and great views over the river. The dining room provides excellent views over breakfast, which was always delightful. We will return there if we go back to Astoria.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KurrajongTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2009

My wife and 3 kids (ages 9-13 years old) had a wonderful 2 night stay at the Benjamin Young House. For my kids who are familiar with the sterility of a Holiday Inn, The Benjamin Young was a great adventure. They loved poking around the living room at the various curios and books, playing with the several cats that roamed the house, or even climbing up into the attic area to explore. The smell of fresh bread brought them out of their room and down to the dining room to find a plate of soft, warm sweet rolls to snack on in the afternoon. The breakfasts were terrific and we enjoyed meeting the other travelers and getting tips from Carolyn, the owner, about fun sights to see. From the house, you can easily walk to a pier area where a few sea lions have taken up residence and will bark at you if you disturb their slumber. My sons loved seeing the two tall ships that happened to have docked at the pier that day. There is a small yard at the house and a large field and backstop next to the house where the kids kicked around a soccer ball.

Although there is a trolley stop near the house and we loved riding it as a way to hear the history of the area and see the sights, the trolley is slow and on an inconsistent schedule so not great as a means for efficient transportation.

The only caution I would mention is that given the obvious presence of cats, those travelers with allergies or sensitivities to pets might find another spot. We had an awesome time at the Benjamin Young House and would recommend it to couples and families looking for a great B&B experience.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ToohottostayinTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2009

This B&B is a breathtaking step back in time to the romantic Victorian era. We were welcomed on the porch by Carolyn, who shared with us the history of the home and who made us feel like we were in our own home with her hospitality. We stayed in the Lady Ann room and enjoyed a fabulous view of the Columbia River from our hillside perch. The sea lions' barking lulled us to sleep each night. Carolyn provided all kinds of information about Astoria; the restaurants, places to visit, the trolley, and events of the weekend. I have to say that, hands down, her Eggs Benedict is the BEST I've ever had. Breakfast was served in the formal dining room at an intimate table by the window facing the river and we felt like royalty. Altogether, a wonderful experience and we certainly will return! Thank you, Carolyn! Oh, and Minnie, Mo and Gordon, thank you too!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robnmilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2009

It provides a nice home feeling, and it reminds you of simpler times. The breakfast was simple, and decadent. The service was excellent, and I loved the view and the architecture of the house. It is the best B & B I have ever stayed at, and one of the best experiences I have had with my wife, Maya.

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bennyfereni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Astoria hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia River
2.9 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
1,231 reviews
2.5 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#6 of 14 in Astoria
747 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Elliott
Hotel Elliott
#5 of 14 in Astoria
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benjamin Young Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benjamin Young Inn

Address: 3652 Duane St, Astoria, OR 97103-2421
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Astoria
Price Range: $75 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing