We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We Stay Here Often--and Love It!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Jenks House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jacksonville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Jenks House
Ranked #2 of 9 Jacksonville B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We Stay Here Often--and Love It!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2011

We have stayed at Jenks House several times a year for several years. It is convenient to our daughter's small home. The accommodations are always clean and very comfortable. The breakfasts are a lovely indulgence over our usual bowl of cereal. There is always a meat or animal protein, fresh fruit, fresh OJ squeezed from their own oranges and some sort of "treat" like waffles or pancakes. Ila Rae is a creative healthy cook. We have gotten to know the hosts and thoroughly enjoy staying here. They always invite our grandsons for breakfast one morning when we are here. Jenks House will continue to be our inn of choice in Jacksonville.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AthensMyra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
26
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2011

When traveling, I often opt to stay at a Bed and Breakfast or small inn because they provide an opportunity to meet engaging and knowledgeable people along with staying in unique rooms and dining on carefully executed meals. The Jenks House in Jacksonville, Florida (http://www.thejenkshouse.com/index.html) certainly fulfilled all expectations.

First, the home was beautiful and welcoming. Hardwood floors gleamed and luxurious linens covered the comfortable bed. While the home wasn’t cluttered, I found interesting photos, painting and tapestries added to the home’s overall interest and warmth. The sunroom on the second story overlooked orange trees laden with ripe fruit - which in turn showed up on the breakfast table as fresh squeezed juice along with the freshly roasted and brewed coffee!

Our hosts, Ila Rae and Tom Merten proudly point out that they are a certified “Green Lodging” in Florida. Clearly the motto evident in the home (even though it isn’t written and posted) is that they treat each resource with respect – reuse and recycle. Our printed receipt is a half sheet of paper with interesting information on the reverse side. Tom revealed a past renter who wanted to recycle rather then add to the landfill gave him the paper that he uses. The hot water used in the home comes from their 30-year-old solar powered water heater. How was it you wonder? The hot shower was better than I’ve used in many hotels.

And, as important to me as the residence, the Tom and Ila Rae’s hospitality at the Jenks House only added to our experience. When I asked if my daughter, a medical resident at Shands Hospital in Jacksonville could join us one morning for breakfast, Tom did not hesitate when he responded “yes”. With Tom and Ila Rae at the breakfast table, we learned more about Jacksonville’s history, shared stories of where we’ve been on life’s journey, and even looked at old menus from Jacksonville’s Jenks Restaurant.

If you are traveling through Jacksonville and need a place to stay for a night, a week or longer, I highly recommend the Jenks’ House – you won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJKNc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2010

I live in Jacksonville. On occasion if we just need a place to hide for a weekend or when I need extra space for family and friends, I call Tom and Ila. Ila is a fantastic cook and Tom is a font of knowledge on local history and sustainable living. Their home is not only a beautiful show place it is also incredibly green. The food is good for you as well as delicious and the life style is good to the earth as well as gracious. The location is wonderful since it is close to the Cummer Gallery and Gardens, the Riverside Arts Market and numerous historic homes. It is also not a horribly long way from the beach and St. Augustine is less than an hour a way (and this B&B is considerably less expensive). There is no fitness center but Tom can tell you some great bike routes through town. No one I know has small children but I don't think it would be a problem to bring a family here. For both quality of service and space AND quantity of things to do, I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank onemorepet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
110 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2008

My husband and I stayed here on our way to and from South Florida. It's close to the interstate but not easy to find in the dark!
It's a Craftsman-style period home with original woodwork that the owners refinished. The beds are very comfortable with wonderful sheets (hand-ironed!). There's a ceiling fan if you're warm and an electric floor heater if you're cool. Soap, shampoo, and conditioner are provided. One bathroom is somewhat larger than the other. You might hear some street noise if you open the windows. Tom roasts the coffee beans himself, so you will notice a different taste than you are used to. Our breakfast was delicious--fresh fruit to start, followed by fluffy blueberry pancakes (whole wheat or buckwheat, I can't remember which). Lots of books if you like to read! I didn't miss TV.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaylilyFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeBary, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Jenks House this past weekend for 2 nights. We were actually in town for a concert. The B&B is about 5 miles from the Veterans Memorial Arena in down town Jacksonville. So, we found it to be in a good location.
We have nothing but nice things to say about the owners Ila Rae and Tom Merten. They made us feel very welcomed into their B&B. The room was cozy and nicely decorated and the bed was very comfortable. We had our own bathroom with plenty of hot water. The breakfast they cook is very delicious. They have their own organic garden and grow their own fruits and vegetables. The orange juice was freshly squeezed. They also roast their own coffee beans. This B&B is more quaint with only two rooms that they book. You feel more like you are at home than in a busy Inn/hotel.
We had originally gone for a concert that ended up being cancelled but had a fabulous time anyways. They told us about places we could go see and visit, even printing out maps for us.
When we left, we were actually sad to leave them as we felt like we had known them for years.
As we told them, we will definantely be back!

  • Liked — The owners made you feel very welcome!
  • Disliked — Nothing bad to say!
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank mangels2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jacksonville hotels
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront
2.3 mi away
Omni Jacksonville Hotel
Omni Jacksonville Hotel
#11 of 132 in Jacksonville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,727 reviews
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Jacksonville - Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville Downtown/Southbank
2.7 mi away
Lexington Hotel & Conference Center - Jacksonville Riverwalk
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Downtown I-95
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jenks House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jenks House

Property: The Jenks House
Address: 2804 Post St, Jacksonville, FL 32205-7414
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing