We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“The home and hosts are great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Jenks House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jacksonville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Jenks House
Save
You added The Jenks House to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 8 Jacksonville B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“The home and hosts are great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

The home is lovely, furnished tastefully with just a touch of whimsy. Our hosts went way out of their way to give us requested advice at JAX, help us mail items home, and provide directions as we left. I really enjoyed their interesting, well informed conversation, too. The gourmet breakfast sets a standard I doubt any of our other accommodations on our month-long trip will likely match.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thejenkshouse, Owner at The Jenks House, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Thank you for the kind words. We really enjoyed getting to know you folks. Keep us updated on your month long bicycling adventure. Kind Regards, Tom and Ila Rae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
24
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
jax
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

We live in Jacksonville, but wanted a special celebration for our wedding anniversary, so decided to spend the night at Jenks B&B. Lovely and convenient B&B in a beautiful area of our city. Wonderful accomodations and inn-keepers! Highly recommned Jenks for any vacation or "stay-cation".

Room Tip: Mission room was lovely and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rlquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thejenkshouse, Owner at The Jenks House, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Thank you for the kind words. Ila Rae and I are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We enjoyed visiting with you. Kind Regards, Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

After 3 nights a week here I almost hate coming home. Tom and Ila Rae seem to love running this B and B in their beautifully restored home. You just never know with whom you will be sharing the fabulous breakfast table. To think my company wanted me to stay at hotel with powdered eggs for breakfast. So pleased I escaped that fate. Nearby restaurants are interesting with my favorite being the Blue Fish with a dozen oysters for 6 dollars at happy hour. Great beer at Sidekicks and European street Cafe.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank celticcay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Spending 3 nights at the Jenks House was one of the best decisions of our recent Fla. vacation. We left this delightful B&B feeling like we were leaving family. Ila Rae and Tom were interesting, lively and responsive to our every whim. We loved their company, as well as their lovely home. The plentiful freshly squeezed orange juice, direct from their own orange trees, and the healthy delectable breakfasts were superior to most B&B's we have visited. The location also allowed us to reach much of the citiy on foot. While we only rented one room, the spacious common rooms made us feel like we had an apartment rather than a room. Don't think twice. Treat yourself to a wonderful place and special people. Juliette

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliette0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

Fresh squeezed orange juice, delicious vegetarian breakfast, warm and welcoming hosts - we didn't just have a nice B&B stay, we made new friends. Ila Rae and Tom couldn't have been more our type of people; we liked them so much, we lingered over breakfast for hours chatting and getting to know one another. Not only are they wonderful human beings, but they have restored a gorgeous home in the historic district. The beds are more than comfortable, the shower had plenty of water pressure, the whole place was spic and span, the termperature was ideal, and the home was done in an authentic and period restoration right down to the vintage of the linens and the dishes. What clinched it for us to book was the fact that Tom and Ila Rae are committed to being a Green Lodging, which means they recycle most everything, they use rainwater that they collect and filter a zillion times for purity, they serve many foods they grow in their garden, and they have lined the driveway with soft pine which is not only lovely but makes for a quiet entrance at night. If we lived closer, we'd hang out with them and hope to have a closer connection. There is not reason to stay any where else in this area.

Room Tip: Both rooms look out on the quiet avenue; the view from our bed was of a gorgeous stately palm. Our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarikaPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jax
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

Can't say enough about The Jenks House. Tom and Ila Rae are top notch people and also very good hosts. The B&B is in a central part of Riverside in Jax, so we were able to walk and bike to restaurants, the Arts Market, and around Riverside and Avondale for sight-seeing.
We were treated to beautiful homemade concoctions for breakfast, fresh-squeezed orange juice, and very good coffee made from fresh-roasted beans. The Mission Room is large with a very comfy bed and beautiful plumbing fixtures from the building's era (note: ask Tom about his work to cut the water usage of these fixtures).
Our hosts went above and beyond the call in many ways, including sharing recipes, making sure we didn't forget our stuff (we tried, multiple times) and arranging a visit with their local garage when we requested a recommendation for lube for the car.
A top-notch B&B, and you will get still more from your visit if you are into gardening, composting, locally-grown produce, water catchment, and the like.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

As a relatively new B&B owner I was delighted to have the opportunity to stay at a B&B in another city. I was not disappointed. The owners were wonderful...very friendly, really interesting and fun to talk to. The house is just gorgeous, very spacious and elegant and really really comfortable. And the food was delicious. An added bonus is their wonderful garden with okra plants like something from Jack the Beanstalk and fabulous citrus trees and lovely flowers. Jenks House is a delightful place to stay. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yeoldemanorhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jacksonville hotels
2.4 mi away
Omni Jacksonville Hotel
Omni Jacksonville Hotel
#9 of 132 in Jacksonville
4.0 of 5 stars 1,441 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Jacksonville - Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Lexington Hotel & Conference Center - Jacksonville Riverwalk
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville Downtown/Southbank
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Downtown I-95
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jenks House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jenks House

Property: The Jenks House
Address: 2804 Post Street, Jacksonville, FL 32205-7414
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing