We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Jenks House
Nearby Hotels
$119
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
$95
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of $128/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$103
$100
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $122/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

La Quinta Inn & Suites Jacksonville Butler Blvd(Jacksonville)(Great Value!)
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Omni Jacksonville Hotel(Jacksonville)
$86
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 38% below average rates

The price you found is 38% lower than this hotel's average rate of $127/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $145/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$108
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
$112
HotelIndigo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $124/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Candlewood Suites Jacksonville(Jacksonville)(Great Value!)
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveler rating
38
3
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
38
3
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsila raefresh roasted beanswonderful hostsbreakfast was deliciousprivate bathriverside avondaleliving roomjacksonville areadrivewayaccommodationsfixtures
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 43 reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2012

After 3 nights a week here I almost hate coming home. Tom and Ila Rae seem to love running this B and B in their beautifully restored home. You just never know with whom you will be sharing the fabulous breakfast table. To think my company wanted me to stay at hotel with powdered eggs for breakfast. So pleased I escaped that fate. Nearby restaurants are interesting with my favorite being the Blue Fish with a dozen oysters for 6 dollars at happy hour. Great beer at Sidekicks and European street Cafe.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank celticcay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Spending 3 nights at the Jenks House was one of the best decisions of our recent Fla. vacation. We left this delightful B&B feeling like we were leaving family. Ila Rae and Tom were interesting, lively and responsive to our every whim. We loved their company, as well as their lovely home. The plentiful freshly squeezed orange juice, direct from their own orange trees, and the healthy delectable breakfasts were superior to most B&B's we have visited. The location also allowed us to reach much of the citiy on foot. While we only rented one room, the spacious common rooms made us feel like we had an apartment rather than a room. Don't think twice. Treat yourself to a wonderful place and special people. Juliette

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliette0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Fresh squeezed orange juice, delicious vegetarian breakfast, warm and welcoming hosts - we didn't just have a nice B&B stay, we made new friends. Ila Rae and Tom couldn't have been more our type of people; we liked them so much, we lingered over breakfast for hours chatting and getting to know one another. Not only are they wonderful human beings, but they have restored a gorgeous home in the historic district. The beds are more than comfortable, the shower had plenty of water pressure, the whole place was spic and span, the termperature was ideal, and the home was done in an authentic and period restoration right down to the vintage of the linens and the dishes. What clinched it for us to book was the fact that Tom and Ila Rae are committed to being a Green Lodging, which means they recycle most everything, they use rainwater that they collect and filter a zillion times for purity, they serve many foods they grow in their garden, and they have lined the driveway with soft pine which is not only lovely but makes for a quiet entrance at night. If we lived closer, we'd hang out with them and hope to have a closer connection. There is not reason to stay any where else in this area.

Room Tip: Both rooms look out on the quiet avenue; the view from our bed was of a gorgeous stately palm. Our room had an ensuite bath complete with original 1925 fixtures and tile. The oak floors, vintage linsey-woolsey coverlet, soft sheets, and materials describing the local history and lore were much appreciated.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarikaPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Can't say enough about The Jenks House. Tom and Ila Rae are top notch people and also very good hosts. The B&B is in a central part of Riverside in Jax, so we were able to walk and bike to restaurants, the Arts Market, and around Riverside and Avondale for sight-seeing.
We were treated to beautiful homemade concoctions for breakfast, fresh-squeezed orange juice, and very good coffee made from fresh-roasted beans. The Mission Room is large with a very comfy bed and beautiful plumbing fixtures from the building's era (note: ask Tom about his work to cut the water usage of these fixtures).
Our hosts went above and beyond the call in many ways, including sharing recipes, making sure we didn't forget our stuff (we tried, multiple times) and arranging a visit with their local garage when we requested a recommendation for lube for the car.
A top-notch B&B, and you will get still more from your visit if you are into gardening, composting, locally-grown produce, water catchment, and the like.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

As a relatively new B&B owner I was delighted to have the opportunity to stay at a B&B in another city. I was not disappointed. The owners were wonderful...very friendly, really interesting and fun to talk to. The house is just gorgeous, very spacious and elegant and really really comfortable. And the food was delicious. An added bonus is their wonderful garden with okra plants like something from Jack the Beanstalk and fabulous citrus trees and lovely flowers. Jenks House is a delightful place to stay. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yeoldemanorhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews