We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Anniversary @ Jenks”
Review of The Jenks House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jacksonville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Jenks House
Ranked #2 of 9 Jacksonville B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We live in Jacksonville, but wanted a special celebration for our wedding anniversary, so decided to spend the night at Jenks B&B. Lovely and convenient B&B in a beautiful area of our city. Wonderful accomodations and inn-keepers! Highly recommned Jenks for any vacation or "stay-cation".

Room Tip: Mission room was lovely and comfortable.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rlquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thejenkshouse, Owner at The Jenks House, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2012

Thank you for the kind words. Ila Rae and I are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We enjoyed visiting with you. Kind Regards, Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
There are newer reviews for The Jenks House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 41 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2012

After 3 nights a week here I almost hate coming home. Tom and Ila Rae seem to love running this B and B in their beautifully restored home. You just never know with whom you will be sharing the fabulous breakfast table. To think my company wanted me to stay at hotel with powdered eggs for breakfast. So pleased I escaped that fate. Nearby restaurants are interesting with my favorite being the Blue Fish with a dozen oysters for 6 dollars at happy hour. Great beer at Sidekicks and European street Cafe.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank celticcay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Spending 3 nights at the Jenks House was one of the best decisions of our recent Fla. vacation. We left this delightful B&B feeling like we were leaving family. Ila Rae and Tom were interesting, lively and responsive to our every whim. We loved their company, as well as their lovely home. The plentiful freshly squeezed orange juice, direct from their own orange trees, and the healthy delectable breakfasts were superior to most B&B's we have visited. The location also allowed us to reach much of the citiy on foot. While we only rented one room, the spacious common rooms made us feel like we had an apartment rather than a room. Don't think twice. Treat yourself to a wonderful place and special people. Juliette

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliette0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Fresh squeezed orange juice, delicious vegetarian breakfast, warm and welcoming hosts - we didn't just have a nice B&B stay, we made new friends. Ila Rae and Tom couldn't have been more our type of people; we liked them so much, we lingered over breakfast for hours chatting and getting to know one another. Not only are they wonderful human beings, but they have restored a gorgeous home in the historic district. The beds are more than comfortable, the shower had plenty of water pressure, the whole place was spic and span, the termperature was ideal, and the home was done in an authentic and period restoration right down to the vintage of the linens and the dishes. What clinched it for us to book was the fact that Tom and Ila Rae are committed to being a Green Lodging, which means they recycle most everything, they use rainwater that they collect and filter a zillion times for purity, they serve many foods they grow in their garden, and they have lined the driveway with soft pine which is not only lovely but makes for a quiet entrance at night. If we lived closer, we'd hang out with them and hope to have a closer connection. There is not reason to stay any where else in this area.

Room Tip: Both rooms look out on the quiet avenue; the view from our bed was of a gorgeous stately palm. Our...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarikaPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Can't say enough about The Jenks House. Tom and Ila Rae are top notch people and also very good hosts. The B&B is in a central part of Riverside in Jax, so we were able to walk and bike to restaurants, the Arts Market, and around Riverside and Avondale for sight-seeing.
We were treated to beautiful homemade concoctions for breakfast, fresh-squeezed orange juice, and very good coffee made from fresh-roasted beans. The Mission Room is large with a very comfy bed and beautiful plumbing fixtures from the building's era (note: ask Tom about his work to cut the water usage of these fixtures).
Our hosts went above and beyond the call in many ways, including sharing recipes, making sure we didn't forget our stuff (we tried, multiple times) and arranging a visit with their local garage when we requested a recommendation for lube for the car.
A top-notch B&B, and you will get still more from your visit if you are into gardening, composting, locally-grown produce, water catchment, and the like.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

As a relatively new B&B owner I was delighted to have the opportunity to stay at a B&B in another city. I was not disappointed. The owners were wonderful...very friendly, really interesting and fun to talk to. The house is just gorgeous, very spacious and elegant and really really comfortable. And the food was delicious. An added bonus is their wonderful garden with okra plants like something from Jack the Beanstalk and fabulous citrus trees and lovely flowers. Jenks House is a delightful place to stay. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yeoldemanorhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2011

Simple but elegant decor with delicious organic food.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martha8848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jacksonville hotels
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront
2.3 mi away
Omni Jacksonville Hotel
Omni Jacksonville Hotel
#11 of 133 in Jacksonville
1,990 reviews
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Jacksonville - Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville Downtown/Southbank
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Downtown I-95
2.7 mi away
Lexington Hotel & Conference Center - Jacksonville Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jenks House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jenks House

Address: 2804 Post St, Jacksonville, FL 32205-7414
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Jacksonville
Price Range: $95 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing