We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is hands down the most disgusting property that I have ever stayed at” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jacksonville I-95 South

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jacksonville I-95 South
Ranked #77 of 132 Hotels in Jacksonville
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This is hands down the most disgusting property that I have ever stayed at”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is the most disgusting hotel that I have ever slept in. From the minute you walk into this property it reeks of oil. The hotel attempts to cover this up witsh the stench of lemon scented cleaning products. The lobby is filthy and outdated. You then step into the elevator which is scuffed and damaged, and again, smells bad. The hallways and rooms smell of mold and mildew. Then there was the soaking wet floor from the pipe that burst across the hall and the early awakening from the man trying to wet/dry vac up all the water in the hallway. Again, the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. I cannot believe it'part of the Hilton chain.

Room Tip: This hotel is filthy. I doubt there are any good rooms. The all smell like mold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    129
    123
    68
    65
See reviews for
174
103
43
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Macon, GA
Level Contributor
135 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stay at Hampton Inns often because they are usually quite suitable, and not so darned pricey. This one is just what we've come to expect: decent motel, room up to standards, pleasant and helpful staff, and a good breakfast. This motel was not our destination, it is where we stayed while we enjoyed Jacksonville, and it was fine. We like the location -- but getting into the motel off I-95 after dark is tough, road is hard to find and not well marked (not HI's fault, thank the city of Jacksonville). Easy access to The Avenues Mall, plenty of eateries, Tinseltown or Regal theater complexes. I would stay here again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank South_Georgia_boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed at this Hampton Inn for one night on the way to Virginia.

This is an exceptionally well-run Inn, although it is an older property.

Brittany at the front desk was unusually friendly and pleasant. She gave us such a warm greeting that I wondered if she confused us for someone else. When I asked her for dinner recommendations she told me about a Dave & Buster’s within walking distance and that our room key would get us a discount on meals.

When I had a minor issue with the A/C Maintenance was quick and responsive and solved the problem. We did not have a noisy A/C as other reviewers complained about.

The breakfast served was typical Hampton Inn good. But the breakfast lady, Ivy Tucker, demonstrated an outstanding attitude. She worked ceaselessly to make sure everyone had what they needed or wanted. When I questioned her about her attitude she said that the “Hampton Inn is the client’s second home. I want it to be perfect.”

The room was clean. The beds comfortable. The bathroom spotless with an exhaust fan quiet but strong.

We would not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: Considering other reviewers' comments, ask for a room away from any smoking rooms (if there are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CenVillager316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zephyrhills, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We've stayed at this Hampton Inn roughly eight times and is great everytime. Great staff that are friendly, clean rooms, comfortable beds and a well stocked clean bathroom. The coffee is always fresh, and the cookies are a bonus which I love. The TV channels are okay. I was told that will improve before the end of the year with better channels and HD programming. If you're looking for a place to stay that is nice, I highly recommend staying here. Their breakfast in the is the best I have found staying in different motels/hotels, they offer a wide selection of items along with fresh oatmeal, not instant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guam, Hawaii, Florida...
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

If you're looking for that clean and inviting hotel that Hampton Inn is known for, look somewhere else. This should be a truck stop, not a Hampton Inn. The room smelled like mildew, as did the halls and elevators. Everything seems dated and worn. Lights that didn't work and a rattling A/C unit added to the headache. Do yourself and your family a favor and spend your money elsewhere. Hampton Inn is a great hotel chain, but they dropped the ball on this location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ejfiaschi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

I had a pleasurable stay during the Jacksonville Jazz Festival weekend and Celebrated my 60th Birthday with several family members who also booked at the same hotel I was greeted by a warm,friendly staff on 5/23/12 and my room was clean and airy and the King size bed was remarkablely comfortable I checked out on 5/27/12 and continued my Celebration in Fernandida Beach before departing for ATL. I highly recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SONATA2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

I am a hotel snob, I was in the business, so I am hard to impress. I was thrilled that we took a chance on a value over pricey. I do like Hampton inn and this was no exception. Fresh decor. Amazing pillows. Impressive breakfast. Clean hotel. Nice pool. Quiet. Mature crowd. Moments from
Great shopping. We will stay again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jkemp803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jacksonville hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jacksonville South
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Jacksonville
Wyndham Garden Jacksonville
#55 of 132 in Jacksonville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jacksonville
Candlewood Suites Jacksonville
#40 of 132 in Jacksonville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Jacksonville - Salisbury Rd. - Southpoint
Extended Stay America - Jacksonv...
#88 of 132 in Jacksonville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Jacksonville
0.0 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Jacksonville
Red Lion Hotel Jacksonville
#87 of 132 in Jacksonville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jacksonville I-95 South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jacksonville I-95 South

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jacksonville I-95 South
Address: 4690 Salisbury Rd, Jacksonville, FL 32256-6130 (Formerly Hampton Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 132 Hotels in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jacksonville I-95 South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Inn & Suites Jacksonville South offers the perfect combination of convenient location and superior accommodations. The hotel's location off of I-95 and Butler Blvd., provides easy access to the Mayo Clinic, UNF, St. John's Town Center, downtown and the beautiful Jacksonville Beaches. We provide complimentary shuttle service to Mayo Clinic and St. Vincent's Southside. Our South Jacksonville, FL hotel is 100% non-smoking and offers you free WI-FI internet access, complimentary breakfast buffet, on-site fitness center, business center with print services, guest laundry, outdoor pool and complimentary parking. We also offer meeting services with our onsite sales teams who will take care of all your meeting needs from audio/visual to catering your special event. From our perfectly appointed guest rooms to our professional service staff no matter what brings you to our area, the Country Inn & Suites Jacksonville South is ready and waiting to serve you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jacksonville I-95 South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Jacksonville - i-95 South Hotel Jacksonville
Jacksonville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing