We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't make the same mistake we did” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Jacksonville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Jacksonville
Ranked #93 of 132 Hotels in Jacksonville
A TripAdvisor Member
“Don't make the same mistake we did”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2005

I wish I would have known about this site before we booked our room at this hotel. It's true that the picture in the ad here is not the correct hotel. The pool at this hotel is awful and the rooms smell musty. Our room was near the basketball court area and it was extremely noisy and the young people playing basketball were rude and obnoxious. We complained about the noise but the manager was no where to be found and never returned our calls. Avoid this one for sure.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    169
    167
    132
    168
See reviews for
387
125
42
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2005

Those excellent reviews must have been put in by the hotel management or maybe they have renovated a couple of the rooms. This place is old and run down. The pool is tiny...not the one in the picture shown here.. Service was really sub-par. The room furniture is really old and worn. One night was more than enough of that place for us.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head south carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2005

As a Hilton Honors member I stay at Hilton Hotels when traveling for both business and pleasure and find them to be clean and in good repair.
I was shocked at the condition of this property when I arrived for a two night stay.The property looks old and in need of repair if not a complete makeover.
The room in which I was assigned was as bad a room as I have seen in years.The bathroom ceiling was stained yellow from a water leak and the plaster was beginning to crack.The room had a very musty smell which was apparent upon opening the door.
It was late so I stayed one night and checked out very early the next morning.
I have contacted the Hilton Hotel Corporate office to complain and make them aware that a hotel of this disrepair is a Hilton property.
Strongly advise you not to stay at this property.

  • Stayed June 2005, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank selective traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsboro, Alabama
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2005

The picture you see on this site is not the actual picture of this hotel. This hotel has several problems you should be aware of.

The building we stayed in was in bad need of repair. The air conditioning did not work in the hallway. The carpeting in the hallways was severly stained. This hotel allows pets and it looks like many pet owners have walked thier pets in the hallways rather than taking them outside. If you decide to stay here, request a room on the top floor away from the basketball court. The floors squeak in some rooms and the basketball court can get noisy.

The pool is very small. My kids took one look and said YUCK! The breakfast was tolerable but we've had much better. There are not enough tables in the breakfast area for this size hotel.

My voice messages to the manager were never returned. The day-shift front desk staff was friendly and accomodating but the elderly lady working the desk on the night shift was rude and inconsiderate.

The rooms are large and clean but heavily deodorized (trying to cover up the musty smell I suppose). The sofa beds and chairs are old and need to be replaced.

This was our first time to stay at a Homewood Suites. I was really surprised by the low quality. We usually stay at Hampton Inn or Hilton and this was definitely a step down.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank TripFlip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2005

We stayed here two nights, and I highly recommend it! The breakfast buffet had bacon, scrambled eggs, fruit, cereals, bagels, toast, and you could even fix your own waffles if you wanted. It was all-you-can eat, too! Our room was very clean - no hairs or dirt anywhere. The decor was really nice as well. It has a condo-feel to it; there are several buildings with rooms not connected but side-by-side. The sidewalk was lighted and landscaped.

However, we asked the front desk worker if we could order pizza in (because of the separate buildings). She said, "Yes. They'll bring it right to your room." This did not happen. We got a call from the front desk saying that our pizza was down there and we had to come get it - at the front desk - several buildings down! They had a really nice pool, hottub and basketball court. But when we asked for a basketball, they told us they didn't have any more. They said that the people who had used it last had not returned it. We never got to use the court our whole stay.

Despite these two problems, we would definitely stay there again. We would just make sure we took our own basketball next time! You can't beat the breakfast - it was so tasty - and you could eat all you wanted! And our room was extremely clean and large (a living/dining area separate from the bedroom). This will definitely be our first choice next time.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2005

We've recently discovered the advantages of staying at Homewood Suites thanks to this website. The previous patron praised this hotel, so we tried it after staying first at a Homewood Suites in Augusta, Ga. We were on a big cross-country roadtrip, and this Homewood Suites far surpases our first HS stay in quality. This particular hotel provided name brand ammenities for our room such as Orville's Popcorn and Folgers Coffee, our favorities. It was a nice touch for our family. Our room was indeed a suite, even the carpet under foot was nice. It had obviously been refurbished somewhat recently. The in room data port was also very convenient and free to use for our laptop. The breakfast was not as southern in variety as our previous HS stay but did offer real scrambled eggs. Also the bread slices for making toast were very fresh. The breakfast assistant even wrapped up enough slices for me to use for sandwich making back in our room. She was most helpful, using tinfoil from the kitchen, and this saved us time and money as we were on the last leg of our trek to Disney World. PB&J's were easy to make, with the breakfast bar carrying all the name brand items we needed. This hotel was a great value as well, even less than the Homewood Suites we had previously stayed at. I don't think the pics of this hotel on this site are the true hotel, just a model. The hotel in Jacksonville is very old, Floridian looking. We would have enjoyed staying longer and using the pool. Many palm trees also decorate the landscape. Very nice, the price was right, and we would stay again! (One extra piece of advice when arriving from north: Exit one earlier than the Hotel's driving directions listed on their site. Otherwise, it is time consuming getting turned around to locate the hotel. Best to call for specific instructions; this will help.)

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2005

I had booked a reservation for one night for my husband and I while visiting family for the Christmas vacation. I had used TripAdvisor for the background info and was not disappointed. It was our last night in FL and we were exhausted. We checked in around 6:oopm with the nice front desk staff and there was an excellent dinner buffet with beer and wine waiting for us. What a relief! We ate until we were full and then went to our room which was a stone's throw from the main lobby, so my husband kept walking back to get another glass of beer or wine for us while we just chilled and watched TV! The suite was spacious, clean and there was even a bag of popcorn for us to pop! The room was also very quiet and the little store was open all night when I had to run over for some aspirin (too much wine, perhaps?) ;) The next morning, the paper was on the front step and the breakfast buffet was served in the lobby--it was awesome. They even had waffle batter premixed and in little cups so you could make your own waffles! The whole thing only cost $70 for the night--what a deal! The only thing I think I thought could be better was having some conditioner (instead of just shampoo) offered and maybe some better coffee in the lobby...but that's just me, I'm a coffee snob. We are sold now..before we go anywhere anymore we will check to see if they have a Homewood Suites around!

Helpful?
4 Thank RkyMtnHi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jacksonville hotels
2.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden Jacksonville
Wyndham Garden Jacksonville
#55 of 132 in Jacksonville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
2.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Jacksonville
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Jacksonville Baymeadows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ramada Jacksonville/Baymeadows Hotel & Conference Center
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Baymeadows
Comfort Suites Baymeadows
#69 of 132 in Jacksonville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
1.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jacksonville
Candlewood Suites Jacksonville
#40 of 132 in Jacksonville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Jacksonville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Jacksonville

Property: Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Jacksonville
Address: 8737 Baymeadows Road, Jacksonville, FL 32256
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 132 Hotels in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Jacksonville 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham located in the Baymeadows area. Come experience our 116 condominium-style suites offering one and two bedroom suites. Our suite come with a separate sleeping area and a living area with a sofa bed. Enjoy the convenience of being able to cook a meal in the fully equipped kitchen providing a stove, refrigerator, dishwasher and microwave. We have hot buffet breakfast 7 days a week and a light dinner Monday - Thursday. Enjoy your favorite cable television show on any of the two, 36 inch flat screen TVs. Our extended stay hotel is near businesses such as Citibank, Bank of America, Blue Cross, Blue Shield, Convergys, State Farm, GE Aviation and JP Morgan Chase. Play a game of basketball on our sports court or come work out in our fitness center and take a dip in our outdoor pool and hot tub. Whatever you enjoy, we look forward to having you as our guest. We are a pet friendly property, $50.00 fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Jacksonville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Jacksonville Hotel Jacksonville
Hilton Jacksonville
Homewood Suites Jacksonville
Homewood Jacksonville
Jacksonville Homewood Suites
Jacksonville Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing