We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Family vacation: )” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Jacksonville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Jacksonville
Ranked #93 of 132 Hotels in Jacksonville
Richmond Hill, Georgia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Family vacation: )”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Love love this place they offer free breakfast free dinner loved our room just like an apartment not to far from beach close to all kinds of shopping n restaurants and a Dunkin Donuts right across the street! !! will be back best value I have seen so far

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank rdbn3017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trisha D, Manager at Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Jacksonville, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at our hotel. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our spacious rooms! As a management team, we strive for ultimate guest satisfaction, and I am glad our staff exceeded your expectations.

If there is ever anything I can do for you, please do not hesitate to contact me.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    149
    155
    117
    156
See reviews for
351
113
37
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rural Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Exterior and lobby appeared clean and well-maintained. Check-in staff very friendly and efficient. I asked her for sheets and pillows for the sleeper-sofa, and extra towels because we had four guests. She assured me the sheets were in the closet, and gave us a couple extra towels, but had no washcloths.

When we got to the room, there were no sheets for the sleeper-sofa. Called the front desk, she said she didn't have any, but she would try to find some in another room...which she did. We took one of the pillows off the bed to use on the sleeper-sofa.

When I opened the dresser drawer, it fell out of the dresser and onto my toe, badly bruising (breaking?) it. A couple other drawers were likewise faulty.

At 2:45 a.m., our daughter awakened with bedbugs crawling all over her bed! A quick inspection determined they were in both beds and the pillows! We reported it to the front desk, and asked to be moved to another room. She apologized but said she had no other room available. So my husband told her we were checking out and wanted a refund. Miraculously, she found another room. He and daughter inspected it, and found no bedbugs, so we moved. Again, there were no sheets or pillows for the sleeper-sofa; front desk told us just to take the ones out of our old room. Uh...no...it was our intent to get away from the bedbugs...not bring them with us!! By now it was 4:30 a.m. and we'd lost nearly two hours' sleep.

The next morning we talked to the manager, who apologized and promised to get the exterminator out that day to check both rooms for bedbugs. We were out all day, and when we returned to our room late that night, we found the beds had been torn apart and NOT remade! Fortunately, I had the forethought to leave a note on the bathroom mirror asking the maid for towels and washcloths for four, and sheets and a blanket for the sleeper-sofa. I guess I should've asked her to make the beds.

Breakfast bar was standard cereal, waffles, bagels. Ham in the eggs, bacon grease in the potatoes, (and an empty pan of biscuits and gravy). We have diet restrictions that keep us from eating pork, so our selections were limited to the usual "continental" items.

Rooms were very quiet. Management interested in resolving problems. Check-in and check-out were the best parts of this experience.

This seemed like a good value at the time we made the reservation, but we would NOT stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Maukenites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trisha D, Manager at Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Jacksonville, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay with us. I would to apologize for the issues you had with your room and the breakfast. These are two of the areas that we are very vigilant in to ensure comfort and satisfaction for our guests. I’m diligently working with housekeeping and breakfast staff to correct these issues so they will not happen again. I have also contacted our pest elimination company.
I am glad that our front desk staff was able to offer you great hospitality. I hope you will consider staying with us again soon so that we demonstrate our commitment to your comfort and ultimate guest satisfaction. If there is ever anything I can do for you, please do not hesitate to contact me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

The room was clean and well arranged. Kitchen supplies such as the one glass and plate were sparse for three people's needs. The first two breakfasts (Saturday, Sunday) were well supplied and coordinated with a very gracious and hospitable host. Monday and Tuesday's breakfasts were staffed by the front desk person who could not possibly keep the breakfast area supplied AND answer phones and check out guests. Consequently guests expressed exasperation with the lack of food and supplies. I think the hotel needs to consider restocking kitchens with basic utensils and hire more help for weekday breakfast management.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank FamVisit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trisha D, Manager at Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Jacksonville, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for providing insight on your recent experience with our hotel I sincerely apologize for the housekeeping issues you had. I did address them and have taken further action with our staff since then. I apologize for the inconveniences that you received while you were here. We have also just hired a new breakfast attendant for the weekdays. We look for reviews to provide insight, so I certainly appreciate your feedback. The next time you are in the area we would love for you to stop back again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

My family and I reserved rooms for our family reunion weekend, easy access from the interstate and great location, however once checked in, there were floors namely the first floor which seemed to have sufferred some type of water damage due to flood either from a storm or a pipes bursting. After speaking with the owner in which we found out the hotel was recently sold to the owner who is currently working on the ongoing problems. The house keeping staff did very little to keep the hall clean, I had to call to get the trash can which was over flowing as soon as you walk off the elevator. The rooms inside were nice and clean, I think this is a diamond in the ruff and with the right kind of care this could be a very great hotel to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jacksonville hotels
0.4 mi away
Ramada Jacksonville/Baymeadows Hotel & Conference Center
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Baymeadows
Comfort Suites Baymeadows
#89 of 132 in Jacksonville
3.5 of 5 stars 158 reviews
1.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jacksonville
Candlewood Suites Jacksonville
#39 of 132 in Jacksonville
4.5 of 5 stars 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Jacksonville Baymeadows
2.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Jacksonville
3.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Jacksonville Deerwood Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Jacksonville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Jacksonville

Property: Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Jacksonville
Address: 8737 Baymeadows Rd, Jacksonville, FL 32256-7425
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 132 Hotels in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Jacksonville 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham located in the Baymeadows area. Come experience our 116 condominium-style suites offering one and two bedroom suites. Our suite come with a separate sleeping area and a living area with a sofa bed. Enjoy the convenience of being able to cook a meal in the fully equipped kitchen providing a stove, refrigerator, dishwasher and microwave. We have hot buffet breakfast 7 days a week and a light dinner Monday - Thursday. Enjoy your favorite cable television show on any of the two, 36 inch flat screen TVs. Our extended stay hotel is near businesses such as Citibank, Bank of America, Blue Cross, Blue Shield, Convergys, State Farm, GE Aviation and JP Morgan Chase. Play a game of basketball on our sports court or come work out in our fitness center and take a dip in our outdoor pool and hot tub. Whatever you enjoy, we look forward to having you as our guest. We are a pet friendly property, $50.00 fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Jacksonville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Jacksonville Hotel Jacksonville
Hilton Jacksonville
Homewood Suites Jacksonville
Homewood Jacksonville
Jacksonville Homewood Suites
Jacksonville Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing