We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mildew Manor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Jacksonville
Ranked #95 of 132 Hotels in Jacksonville
Maricopa, Arizona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Mildew Manor”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

I am having a very hard time understanding the recent glowing reviews I have read. I had to stay here for 3 nights for business. This hotel has a serious mold/mildew problem. You could see it seeping through the walls in many areas. The smell is awful. You could tell there has been some effort to make the place look nice but painting over moldy walls is not such a good approach. I had two other folks traveling with me who all had the same issue. I tried to move to another hotel but something must have been going on in Jacksonville because everything was booked. Another issue is the carpets are not very clean looking and the moulding in the bathroom was rotting away. Walls are very thin and you can hear EVERYTHING your neighbors are doing. The only thing I can really say positive about this property is the staff in the front office are very nice.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel. DO NOT STAY HERE!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kurukupaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel G, Front Office Manager at Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Jacksonville, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Kurukupaa,

Thank you for choosing the Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham as your choice hotel while in our area. We value your feedback and are sorry to hear about your stay. These concerns will be addressed as we continuously make imporvements to our hotel, including soon to be replaced carpets and vinyl on the walls. The suite in question was fully inspected by our maintenance team and all issues resolved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    172
    171
    136
    170
See reviews for
394
128
43
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Room was fine. Walls are paper-thin. Can hear everything from the rooms next door. I was given 2 keys on check-in. One didn't open outer door. Neither opened room door. Fortunately maintenance man was neaby to let me in. However, he did not check that I was supposed to be in THAT room! The bathroom had a lizard in it. Called front desk and maintenance man came over shortly and removed it. Went to lobby for "dinner". No beer and only caesar salad (no protein) was available. Breakfast was OK if you like carbs. No eggs were there. Sausage and gravy or waffles.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Linda Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel G, Front Office Manager at Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Jacksonville, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Linda Y.,

Thank you for choosing the Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham as your choice hotel while in our area. We value your feedback and are sorry to hear about your stay.

Our breakfast is a full, hot breakfast that does include eggs. I'm sorry to hear they were unavailable at the time you came down, as that's something we always provide.

I also apologize about the keys not working and will be sure my front desk staff knows the check and double check, that our keys are in working order.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

room was not good! heavy smoker in before and the spray "cover-up" even made it worse.

travel a lot and this was the worst smelling room I have ever had and it was in every room.

Buffet featured dishes that were not clean nor silverware nor coffee cups and eggs were Very Dry.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
1 Thank Maury P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel G, Front Office Manager at Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Jacksonville, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Maury P.,

Thank you for choosing the Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham as your choice hotel while in our area.

I am sorry to hear about your stay and apologize for the unsatisfactory conditions you faced.

I will be sure to get in touch with every department you've raised concerns about and make sure this is not an ongoing issue. We appreciate your feedback and apologize again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jacksonville hotels
2.0 mi away
Wyndham Garden Jacksonville
Wyndham Garden Jacksonville
#55 of 132 in Jacksonville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
2.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Jacksonville
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Jacksonville Baymeadows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jacksonville
Candlewood Suites Jacksonville
#39 of 132 in Jacksonville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ramada Jacksonville/Baymeadows Hotel & Conference Center
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Baymeadows
Comfort Suites Baymeadows
#57 of 132 in Jacksonville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Jacksonville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Jacksonville

Property: Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Jacksonville
Address: 8737 Baymeadows Road, Jacksonville, FL 32256
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 132 Hotels in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Jacksonville 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham located in the Baymeadows area. Come experience our 116 condominium-style suites offering one and two bedroom suites. Our suite come with a separate sleeping area and a living area with a sofa bed. Enjoy the convenience of being able to cook a meal in the fully equipped kitchen providing a stove, refrigerator, dishwasher and microwave. We have hot buffet breakfast 7 days a week and a light dinner Monday - Thursday. Enjoy your favorite cable television show on any of the two, 36 inch flat screen TVs. Our extended stay hotel is near businesses such as Citibank, Bank of America, Blue Cross, Blue Shield, Convergys, State Farm, GE Aviation and JP Morgan Chase. Play a game of basketball on our sports court or come work out in our fitness center and take a dip in our outdoor pool and hot tub. Whatever you enjoy, we look forward to having you as our guest. We are a pet friendly property, $50.00 fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Jacksonville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Jacksonville Hotel Jacksonville
Hilton Jacksonville
Homewood Suites Jacksonville
Homewood Jacksonville
Jacksonville Homewood Suites
Jacksonville Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing