We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not like home.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Jacksonville
Ranked #98 of 133 Hotels in Jacksonville
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Let me start by saying that we choose Hilton properties 9 out of 10 times, and if Homewood Suites is an option where we need to be, it's our go-to brand. This is the 6th Homewood Suites that we've stayed at in the past 2 years and by far the bottom of the barrel! We stayed in the first building, room 122 and it was horrible. It smelled old and musty and it's proximity to the road made for 2 very loud nights. Unfortunately, very loud neighbors with obvious domestic issues arrived in the middle of our second night and their yelling and slamming of doors added nothing but torture to the existing bad situation. To most, the easy thing would be to call the front desk and ask to move, but when you're traveling with a 2.5 year old, that's not the most convenient option. We were very alarmed when we were approached at our car by what appeared to be a homeless drug addict asking for money, very scary situation when you're holding a baby in your arms and you're relying on your hotel to provide security. I realize that the property has undergone renovations and it's not that it doesn't look nice, it's just that many things were overlooked and the property is tired and worn out. Out of every Homewood Suites we have ever stayed at, this was the first with exterior corridors which we decided was the reason so many of the problems exist. It has a very "motel" feel and that's not what I'm looking for when I'm traveling with my family. The location was good, very easy access to I-95. Had potential, but we won't be back. We just felt like we were at a "shady, unsafe motel that smelled bad."

Room Tip: NOT room 122!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nextstop_somewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerly34, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Jacksonville, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2012

Dear Nextstop_somewhere,

Thank you for staying at my hotel and I am sorry we were unable to exceed your expectations. You and I have had several email communications since your departure. But I need to point out that during your stay you never contacted a Team member or management to alert us of your issues. Unless we are informed of a problem we can not fix the problem. In our correspondence you stated you did not contact the front desk about your issues that you expected us to know what is going on at every moment and not rely on a guest to report an issue.
It is unfortunate you had the experience you did in the parking lot with the panhandler but this is a very rare occurrence, but again if you had told someone he was in the parking lot we would have investigated it, called the roving security company or even the police but we were not advised and unable to assist.
This hotel will under go a major renovation beginning the second quarter of this year; the tired look will be remedied and we will have the most up to date hotel in the market by September. I truly hope you will give us a try when in the area next fall, you will be pleasantly surprised.

Sincerely,

Russell Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (889)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

835 - 841 of 889 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2012

On four trips driving between NY and south FL this year and 2011, this has been our favorite place to stay a night - Hilton Homewood Suites at 8737 Baymeadows Road, Jacksonville, Fl.
Clean, efficient, comfortable; the suites are furnished with everything you need and well-designed with a bath and dressing-room, bedroom, and den/kitchen/dining area separated from the bedroom by twin doors - useful if, like us, you have a sometimes yowling cat.
The staff is friendly, tv, internet, and breakfast very good. The hotel is handsome and just off I-95.

Room Tip: try for a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LIwren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerly34, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Jacksonville, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2012

Dear Llwren,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your lodging needs while transiting the Jacksonville area. Your recent letter to me was very much appreciated and I shared it with my entire Team during our morning huddle.
I look forward to your next vist.

Sincerely,

Russell Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

We stayed at the Homewood Suites for 3 nights, wow what a great place to stay. Rooms were exceptionally clean and well provided, high end furniture and linens. Loved the idea that a hot breakfast was served and two of our nights there supper was served. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barnie9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerly34, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Jacksonville, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2012

Dear Barnie9,

Thank you for your very kind comments and enthusiastic review. Your comments were shared with my entire team today and they responded with a loud cheer.

See you next time you are passing through Jacksonville, Florida.

Sincerely,

Russell Brown CHA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Wonderful staff, all the way around. Every night, every shift! I have 3 out of the 4 names
of the personell that were on shift, let me just than Samuel Hussey, Melissa Elgersma, John Grand Gerard for making every request happen. Rarely do I go to a hotel, and find awesome service over the phone, and in person. Thank you for taking good care of me on my business trip!

Room Tip: 425 was mostly quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smtlr614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerly34, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Jacksonville, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2012

Dear Smtlr14,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your lodging needs while in Jacksonville, FL. My Team and I take great pride in providing every guest with exceptional service before, during and after their stay if needed.

Thank you for your very kind comments; they will be shared with the Team during our next morning Huddle.

Sincerely,

Russell Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Selected this hotel because we love Homewood Suites and the location was easy from I 95. The room was perfect. Hotel personnel were helpful and friendly. Breakfast included a nice variety of hot and cold selections nicely presented. We would definitely stay here again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hoosierhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerly34, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Jacksonville, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2012

Dear Hoosierhiker,

Thank you for your very nice review and kind words about my Team. We are very proud of our hotel and take great pride in offering service beyond our guest's expectations.

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your lodging needs in Jacksonville, FL.

Sincerely,

Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

This hotel exceeded all our expectations! We needed a two BR suite with one walk in shower for a 93 year old. The check in was very cordial and accomodating. The room
was very clean and the beds and pillows were fantastic! The hotel is just off I 95 and close to all shopping and restaurants. They provide an excellent nightly meal which was home cooked on the premises with wine all of which are free. The free breakfast was also better than most places offer. The weather was bad so we did not use the outdoor pool or jacuzzi.
There is a small fitness center and a business center. We have rebooked this hotel and feel we could not find a better place at the price offered! We would highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Center court rooms are very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edenpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerly34, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Jacksonville, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2012

Dear edenpt,

Thank you for the very nice review and comments, it was a pleasure having you and your family stay with us. We all look forward to your next visit.

Warmest regards,

Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We stayed at this hotel while traveling over the holidays. The location is very convenient to I-95. The room was very clean and comfortable, especially the bed - we slept great! The staff were delightful, helpful and hospitable. The price for what you get is excellent. Whether just passing through Jacksonville or staying for multiple days you can't beat the comfort, convenience and price. And, we found a great Chinese Restaurant - Pagoda Chinese, just a couple blocks from the hotel.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are best - no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerly34, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Jacksonville, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2012

Dear Raylo,

Thank you for your great review and kind remarks. My staff and I take great pleasure in ensuring every guest has a wonderful experience.
I feel certain you will stay with us again the next time you are in the area. Please poke your head in my office next time around, I would ike to meet you.

Sincerely,

Russell Brown, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jacksonville hotels
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Baymeadows Near Butler Blvd
2.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Jacksonville
2.0 mi away
Wyndham Garden Jacksonville
Wyndham Garden Jacksonville
#68 of 133 in Jacksonville
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ramada Jacksonville/Baymeadows Hotel & Conference Center
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Jacksonville Baymeadows
1.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jacksonville
Candlewood Suites Jacksonville
#48 of 133 in Jacksonville
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Jacksonville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Jacksonville

Address: 8737 Baymeadows Rd, Jacksonville, FL 32256-7425
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 133 Hotels in Jacksonville
Price Range: $71 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Jacksonville 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham located in the Baymeadows area. Come experience our 116 condominium-style suites offering one and two bedroom suites. Our suite come with a separate sleeping area and a living area with a sofa bed. Enjoy the convenience of being able to cook a meal in the fully equipped kitchen providing a stove, refrigerator, dishwasher and microwave. We have hot buffet breakfast 7 days a week and a light dinner Monday - Thursday. Enjoy your favorite cable television show on any of the two, 36 inch flat screen TVs. Our extended stay hotel is near businesses such as Citibank, Bank of America, Blue Cross, Blue Shield, Convergys, State Farm, GE Aviation and JP Morgan Chase. Play a game of basketball on our sports court or come work out in our fitness center and take a dip in our outdoor pool and hot tub. Whatever you enjoy, we look forward to having you as our guest. We are a pet friendly property, $50.00 fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Jacksonville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Jacksonville Hotel Jacksonville
Hilton Jacksonville
Homewood Suites Jacksonville
Homewood Jacksonville
Jacksonville Homewood Suites
Jacksonville Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing