We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No follow through on Social Events”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Airport Hotel
Ranked #37 of 132 Hotels in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
112 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“No follow through on Social Events”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

My husband and I met with Bill to obtain prices and options for a social events we wanted to hold at the Crowne Plaza. Let me say that the Crowne Plaza is a beautiful facility and we fully believed that we had found our event venue. When we left, we were told that we would receive a contract for all the we discussed and would proceed from there. Let me say, the contract that was sent for my signature was very vague and did not provide any details as to what we would receive for signing the document other than that they required a deposit. I emailed Bill and informed him that I could not sign a document that did not detail what we would receive so that there was no confusion and never heard anything further. Very poor follow through. I guess I should be glad that I found that out before we were locked in. Will look elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qikvette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaJAX, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Airport Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate the nice comments regarding the hotel's facility. I would like to address the contract with you.

Our contracts are pretty standard and primarily address the function space and revenue you are committing to and they do require a deposit. This allows the hotel to confirm your event/space and take it out of our inventory. Once the contract is signed, Bill would schedule a tasting at the hotel and when you chose your menu, a Banquet Event Order would be prepared for your signature, outlining every little detail including a diagram, set-up, food and beverage items, etc.

We apologize for the confusion. Again, we appreciate your comments and hope that you will give us another try in the future. The Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Airport was awarded the Quality Excellence Award and Turning Point Award from Intercontinental Hotel Group for 2011. These awards are based on guest comments and their satisfaction with our property.
We wish you all the best on your upcoming event.

Sincerely,
Mark Kane, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    112
    54
    27
    17
See reviews for
75
75
29
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Cannot complain about the wonderful service given us here! Our flight arrived in JAX very early and when we got to the hotel they had no rooms ready. We were asked to take a seat, that it may be an hour before they have a room ready. After an hour we inquired and they still had no room, so they gave us a room on the Executive Level, which was ready. Although there is nothing close by, you can take the shuttle to various local places. We choose to just us the time to rest. The room was spotless, very comfortable and very quiet! We highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jabbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaJAX, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Airport Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2016
Thank you for your review. Our location has several restaurants within walking distance as well as the River City Marketplace via shuttle.

Thanks again for the business and we hope to see you back next visit to Jacksonville.

Mark Kane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
75 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

After checking in I encountered a problem with my key card. After about 20 tries it finally worked -once.. Several keys later I was locked out at 5AM after going next door for a cup of coffee - the coffee maker in the room didn't work. I was advised that maintenance would have a look while I was out. However upon my return it still didn't work. It turned out to be kind of like a European hotel - Stop by the front desk and get your key everytime you enter the hotel.
Despite therecent renovations the hotel is a little shabby around the edges. The stairways were dirty and it appears some work still needs to be done.
Certainly not the worst hotel by any means, however it's also nothing special either.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FullTimeTraveller51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaJAX, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Airport Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments regarding your stay. We understand your disappointment and appreciate the inconvenience this must have caused you. There is no question that the service did not meet the very high standards our customers have come to expect and should continue to demand.

In our effort to improve the overall quality of our service, I have met with the department heads and can assure you that we have addressed each issue. I can promise you that the highest quality standards will be met in the future because protecting our reputation in the market is a key priority for us. Again, I apologize for any inconvenience caused as a result.

Again, we appreciate your comments and hope that you will give us another try in the future. The Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Airport was awarded the Quality Excellence Award and Turning Point Award from Intercontinental Hotel Group for 2011. These awards are based on guest comments and their satisfaction with our property.

Sincerely,
Mark Kane, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

This is my go-to hotel after a long evening flight and don't want to drive anywhere until the next morning. Comfortable beds, room service, and free hot breakfast (military only). Great for families, seniors, and singles due to bar, restaurant, and indoor/outdoor pool. Splurged and stayed on the executive level this time. They have a dedicated quiet floor which was really nice. The executive lounge offers cold and hot drinks, fruit, and ice cream.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tania2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaJAX, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Airport Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2016
Thank you for your review and for your service to our country.

We appreciate your business and look forward to your next visit.

Mark Kane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomasville, Georgia
Level Contributor
231 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

This was a "repeat performance" for my husband and I to stay at the Airport Crowne Plaza in Jacksonville. We like to book early morning flights out of Jacksonville and stay at the Crowne Plaza the night before. We are never disappointed in the facility nor the staff. The shuttle provided by the Crowne Plaza to the airport is a great way to start and end a vacation. They are prompt, courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becky052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaJAX, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Airport Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to rate our hotel.

Our staff at the hotel takes great pride in our facility and we are glad that you recognize their efforts. We are very proud of all the wonderful renovations that we have done and the hotel is a great place for a Stay and Fly opportunity.

Again, thank you and we hope to see you guys back soon!

Mark Kane, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Loved the indoor outdoor pools. Hotel was nice, nice lobby, parking not bad. Kinda hard to get to, road work going on. Bed were a little rock hard, had baby with us so we didn't get to sleep much anyway.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaJAX, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Airport Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to rate out hotel.

Usually we hear "I didn''t want to get out of bed because it was so comfortable". Sorry you felt the beds were too hard. We have heard many comments about the construction across the highway near the RiverCity Market Place, however, we are very fortunate we do not have any construction going on in or around our hotel.

Again thank you and we hope during any future travels to Jacksonville you will give us another try.

Mark Kane, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saylorsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
264 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We stayed at the crowne plaza for 2 nights prior to a cruise. The hotel is attractive and the rooms are comfortable. Location is about 1 mile from the airport, but not in an area where you can walk to other things (near intersection of two busy highways). the restaurant was undergoing renovations, so the menu was limited, but food was ok. this lack of a more significant menu prevents me from rating the hotel higher. I believe the restaurant renovations will be done in May. all in all, a reasonable choice for an overnight stay in Jacksonville with a flight or cruise the next day.

Room Tip: oops overlooking th pool may be quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wtrav77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaJAX, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Airport Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2016
Thank you for your review but I believe you have our hotel confused with another. We are not and have not done any renovations to our Savannah Bistro restaurant and it is opened as follows 7 days a week:

Breakfast - 6am - 11am
Lunch - 11am - 2pm
Dinner - 5pm - 10pm

We hope you enjoyed your cruise and look forward to your next visit.

Mark Kane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jacksonville hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jacksonville-Airport
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Jacksonville Airport
Hyatt Place Jacksonville Airport
#30 of 132 in Jacksonville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Jacksonville Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Jacksonville Airport Northeast
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville Airport
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Jacksonville Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Airport Hotel

Property: Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Airport Hotel
Address: 14670 Duval Rd, Jacksonville, FL 32218-2460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Jacksonville
#18 Romantic Hotel in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Airport Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Airport Hotel (formerly Holiday Inn) is located minutes from the Jacksonville International Airport (JAX) and the Carnival Cruise Lines terminal at JAXPORT. We are just a short drive from Downtown Jacksonville (via I-95) and the area’s finest beaches and golf courses.Regardless of whether you are traveling to Jacksonville, Florida for business or pleasure, the Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Airport Hotel has plenty of luxurious rooms available allowing you to relax and enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Jacksonville
Jacksonville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing