We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ten” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The French Pantry

The French Pantry
Ranked #1 of 44 Dessert in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“ten”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

the best bread in town, the best salads in town, the best sandwiches in town, the best deserts in town, the best value for your money in town

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank jhbicksler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    603
    118
    27
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roan Mountain, Tennessee
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

Get there early. Long lines. Service is fast, food is great. Most folks are repeat diners and know about the place. Can't miss items on changing menu. Highly recommend.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aces4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“The French Pantry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

The bread and pastries are absolutely amazing!! Their salads are fantastic and you get large portions. Get there early, though. There is usually a long line and people don't mind waiting for their fantastic food!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Beverly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunlap, Tennessee
Level Contributor
190 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Wow!.. # 1 Rating for a lunch spot? Really??? YES, YES, YES!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

We were a little skeptical of the rating and reviews of this place, but woke up super early and drove from Tennessee to see for our selves. Arrived at 1:30 and there was a line of about 15- 18 ppl. I soon found out from the folks in front of us that there is ALWAYS a line and it is always worth the wait. Others I spoke to ( or overheard ) concurred. The previous reviews were spot on. We got to the counter after about 15 minutes and ordered Ice Tea, the Shrimp Po Boy and the Rueben ( and , to go, a yummy looking dessert and a freshly baked 1/2 dozen Kaiser Rolls.) The drinks were brought to an open spot at a large table where another couple were nearing the end of their meal . Once seated, the server brought us some hot fresh french bread and a hot toasty Roll with alioli for dipping. Delish! The local couple at our table have been here several times and said they have never been dissappointed. When they left, their seats were filled by 3 other gals, one who was also a repeat patron, bringing her Mom and sister for the first time. After another 10 minutes or so , our sandwiches arrived. The Rueben was very good, but not great, partially because it got a little soggy from the sauerkraut. My sandwich, on fresh hot french bread , was heaven !! Totally enjoyable ; one of the best I've ever had. Still, we could only each eat half, after filling up on the yummy bread. We are already trying to figure out a reason to come back this way, as there were many sandwiches and salads that looked 'oh so good!' and folks eating them said so! This is not like a 'regular' sandwich shop by any stretch of the imagination. Each item is carefully and expertly crafted. We'll be back !

The extra pleasant woman

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kaw54realestate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Jacksonvile's best restaurant hands down”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

This restaurant is a hidden gem, but more people are finding out about the French Pantry. The food is unparalleled. The hours are only 11-2, so you have to plan for lunch. Plan on dessert, and to take home some fresh made bread. The French Dip with Borsoin was amazing. The Wedding Cake and Napoleon was to die for. I could eat here every day. Seating is limited and you may be seated with others if you are alone or in a couple. That adds to the fun and you make new friends. Enjoy!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank swimmomjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The French Pantry also viewed

 

Been to The French Pantry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing