We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well run property”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #87 of 134 Hotels in Jacksonville
Reviewed August 10, 2009

The service was excellent, the room large and comfortable.As for the location, it was perfect,just off I95.Just stopping overnite and continuing the trip the next day.Resturants were plentiful in the area.The next morning"s complementary breakfast I liked the best,more choices to chose from.,and serviced well.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dolphinve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 116 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2009

There seemed to be some confusion over whether the pool area was open or not. When we checked in, I asked to use the pool. The clerk said the pool was closed that evening. I asked if it would be open the next morning. The clerk made a phone call, and told us the pool would be open the next morning. The next morning the pool was still closed.

An hour after we checked in, we had the a/c on the coldest setting, and the room was still very hot. My husband called the front desk, told the clerk the room was still hot, and asked if we could switch rooms. The clerk refused to switch rooms, and sent someone to check on the a/c. The guy who checked the a/c said it was cold and working fine. We asked him if that was the coolest it could run. He said yes.
My husband and I debated on whether we should leave or not. We decided to stay. Unfortunately, the room stayed very hot while I tried to get dressed for our evening out. The room was still hot when we left, approximately 3 hours after checking in.
The room did finally cool down while we were out.
What really bothered me was the way we were treated when we complained about the room being hot. There were plenty of other rooms available for us to move.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBug13Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2009

I was recently recruiting the Jacksonville area for a state university and had the opportunity to stay at this hotel. I was very please with this hotel in every way. I normally stay at the five star hotels during the season with the team however being by myself and stretching the recruiting budget, I try to find some place reasonable, safe and clean. I can truly say I was comfortable and felt safe on the property. I don't say this just to give brownie points to places of business. If I had a complaint it would be the pillows, they're to flat and not plush! Other than that, I would recommend this place in a New York minute without the price tag... The people at the front desk are awesome to work with and that's normally not the case at some places. I don't know how this place was in the past but someone turned this place around from what I read earlier and this is no lie. I will be back for the Football Jamborees next week and I will stay at this Ramada South.

Grace and Peace
Coach

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigG78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2009

On our recent visit to Jacksonville, we choose the Ramada South Inn off I-95 and were very satified with our clean room, the complimentery breakfast and the friendliness of all the personnel we met, at this location. On our next visit to Jacksonville, it will be the Ramada South, for us.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joethetraveler_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2009

I have been to many different Ramada's in different cities. This hotel was the worst. I was charged an additional fee for refrigerator/microwave, (which is standard at the super 8 a few blocks away & was not stated on the online description). The staff tried to charge me additional fees when my son ate breakfast (after the manager verified he was on the reservation, I was given a lame apology). I had to fight with maid service to get shampoo & clean towels. The Ramada, is usually a decent hotel, but this falls short. There are many cheaper hotels in this area, that offer better quality & service. I suggest you look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foxxy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2009

I was going to take my son to see University of Jacksonville and this was located very close to the campus. The price was very right and the hotel was clean and simple. It is not fancy at all and a bit older but it is very clean, no bugs, and the staff was friendly. I would not stay here for a long term vacation stay but would recommend it for a night or two stay. The breakfast was also good with fruit, cereal, waffles etc. Staff was SO very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PamPreferred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2009

Great value for price. Nice, clean, spacious rooms. Sheers on windows, exterior corridors, Wi-Fi, coffee maker, great breakfast set-up. Restaurants close by & easy access to I-95. Friendly staff !

Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
Thank CESJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jacksonville hotels
14.9 mi away
Jacksonville Plaza Hotel & Suites
1.5 mi away
Tricove Inn & Suites
Tricove Inn & Suites
#74 of 134 in Jacksonville
80 reviews
1.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Jacksonville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Jacksonville - Orange Park
Red Roof Inn Jacksonville - Oran...
#102 of 134 in Jacksonville
197 reviews
9.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#98 of 134 in Jacksonville
186 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hospitality Inn
Hospitality Inn
#75 of 134 in Jacksonville
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 5624 Cagle Rd, Jacksonville, FL 32216-5911 (Formerly Ramada Inn South Point - Jacksonville)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Jacksonville
Price Range: $57 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Econo Lodge (previously Ramada South Point Jacksonville!) We are located minutes from Downtown Jacksonville and Everbank Fields. The hotel is less than 1 mile from Memorial Hospital, 1 block from Specialty Hospital and minutes from Jacksonville University. Our guests enjoy a complimentary breakfast each morning. We offer complimentary high speed internet access, guest coin laundry facilities, an outdoor pool and banquet/meeting space able to accommodate up to 75 people. Guestrooms feature coffee makers, premium cable channels, iron and ironing boards, hairdryers and bathrooms with massaging shower heads. Microfridges available upon request. Pets welcome. Free onsite parking with plenty of space for buses and trucks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Jacksonville
Ramada Inn Jacksonville
Ramada Inn South Point
Jacksonville Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing