We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude staff and Loud pot smoking guests” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Garden Jacksonville

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Wyndham Garden Jacksonville
Ranked #55 of 132 Hotels in Jacksonville
Savannah, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rude staff and Loud pot smoking guests”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Would never stay at this hotel again. Guests were allowed to smoke pot in the parking lot. Yelling and slamming of doors all through the night. Security was unhelpful. Black staff were unkind to white guest.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    190
    130
    75
    72
See reviews for
236
176
75
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Excellant place to stay if your in town for the UNF orientation. Staff very friendly, safe place to stay easy access for parking, very comfortable beds. Very clean. Easy to get to the university and around town. I will definetly stay there again. but call advance to get the UNF discount added to your bill.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Annemarie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
200 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Check in was quick and check out was fast as well. The room was clean but my air didn't work too well this stay. The pool and fitness center are ok and the business center is a little small. There are no fridges or microwaves in the room so I am not sure about that for a several day stay. Breakfast was good and they had plenty to go around. There is a little smell in the hotel but not too bad. Overall it is workable. The pillows were flat and made my head sweat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaKronmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

The hotel is situated in an good neighborhood, check in and check out was fast and painless. The room was clean but the air did not work too good unless you put it down to 60. The internet was slow but at least it worked.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Donna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

The room was nice. The included breakfast was tasty. Biscuits and gravy were an option which my husband and I love. Usually I eat just a few bites because of the fat content and the fact that included hotel breakfasts are what they are :) These biscuits and gravy were delicious which had me back up for more forgoing my usual choices.
A BIG bummer was that the pool was being renovated which was NOT explained when booking. Thank God they negotiated with the Marriott next door to allow for Best Western swimmers. We have been blessed to be able to travel and stay in mostly higher star level hotels over the past few years praise God. Any time we have asked to change from a single bed situation to a double or vice versa ALL have been readily accommodating providing availability. This hotel absolutely would not. The man on the phone not only told us no though there was PLENTY of availability, he also added quite an extensive list of additional charges we would have to pay if we did switch. Thus explaining the poor rating for customer service.

Room Tip: Don't expect "extra" accommodations and go hungry to breakfast :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

I just spent a night there on my way from south to north and I was disappointed at all.
The smoking rooms doesn't have microwave. WHY? Nor frigde. It was not a biggest problem that the card don't want to open my door (spent 20 minutes to try new cards...). The room on the 1st floor I got was terrible, with terrible lamps (one without bulb), the ventillator in the bath was extremly noisy and no way to turn off only together with the light. It was a bed night, I will never go there again.
The staff was OK.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hrefa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternJTB, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Jacksonville, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear hrefa,

On behalf of all of the BEST WESTERN team, please allow me to extend a heartfelt apology for the issue you outlined with your guest room electronic lock. I know how frustrating technology failure can be. When these issues do arise and unfortunately in our lives we all encounter these types of glitches, our team members do their very best to quickly resolve the problem for our guests. We never want a guest to be inconvenienced.

I do understand your comments regarding a desire for a microwave and refrigerator. Like many hotels, our property does not feature this amenity in every guest room. Rooms with these units are specific room types, which are reserved at time of booking. If you select a room type that does not have a unit built in, we do offer the ability to store your items in a refrigerator in our service area and have a microwave available in a public area of the hotel, our breakfast dining room.

Our team values your patronage and we hope that should you visit our city again, you will consider our hotel for your lodging needs. It would be our pleasure to host you.

Kind wishes for safe travels...
The BEST WESTERN Hotel Staff and Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay i always book this hotel whenever i visit jacksonville. I only wish the room came with a refrigerator but other than that it was great the staff was above and beyondand very helpful the breakfast was really great better than ive had at other hotels.keep up the good work

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MonicaJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternJTB, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Jacksonville, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Ms. MJ...

Thank you for sending in your review on our hotel. We appreciate hearing from you and your experience. Our team values these comments and they serve to enhance our associate morale and motivate them to strive to be the very best they can.

We hope that should you return to our beautiful city that you will give us an opportunity to serve your lodging needs again! Please feel free to call on us at any time.

With the July 4th Holiday upon us, we wish you a wonderful summer!

Yours in hospitality...
Your BEST WESTERN Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jacksonville hotels
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Jacksonville
0.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jacksonville
Candlewood Suites Jacksonville
#40 of 132 in Jacksonville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Jacksonville Butler Blvd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Jacksonville - Southpoint
9.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jacksonville
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville South/I-95 at JTB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Jacksonville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Jacksonville

Property: Wyndham Garden Jacksonville
Address: 4660 Salisbury Rd, Exit 344, Butler Blvd, Jacksonville, FL 32256-6130 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel JTB/Southpoint)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Jacksonville 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Wyndham Garden Jacksonville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Jtb / Southpoint Hotel Jacksonville
Best Western Jacksonville
Jacksonville Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing