We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst western- terrible stay from start to finish!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Jacksonville
Ranked #65 of 133 Hotels in Jacksonville
Mims, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst western- terrible stay from start to finish!”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Well, we stayed here one night while we were visiting our daughter who is attending unf. WE will NEVER be back!
First, we arrived at about 2:15 pm however the front office staff informed us that they do not offer early check in. We would have to come back at 3:00 pm (45 minutes) We were told to keep calling to check if the room was ready. Although this was not welcoming news after our drive, it is the policy of check in at 3:00 so we accepted it and went out to get something to eat while we waited.
Upon our return, we were assigned a SMOKING room! Seaside to be switched to a nonsmoking room and we were told there was nothing available for us but they would come and spray for us. The lady who came to spray was super sweet and she sprayed the carpet, curtains, air and even the pillows on the beds. Unfortunately the relief was short lived. We actually went out and purchase some febreeze spray. The residue was even overwhelming for the febreeze! I have always assumed that you would have to request this type of room as we have stayed in many hotels and have NEVER before been assigned a smoking room! The smell was extremely thick as the window in the room did not open to let in any fresh air. We woke up with headaches and couldn't wait to get our breakfast and checkout. We went to get our breakfast which was included with our room- they were out of most everything so we decided to return to the room and we packed up and then headed back out for breakfast- unfortunately the food was still not replenished so no breakfast for us!
Deciding we had enough of this experience we checked out. Upon checkout the lady at the counter asked, "How was your stay?" I tried to explain to her that we were disappointed in getting the smoking room and the lack of food at the breakfast, her response was, "Sorry to hear that" and that was it. So, we actually stopped by the Marriott hotel as well as the holiday inn located nearby dafter we checked out, we have their cards and they both offer discounts for UNF students and their families (with I.D). We will be visiting our daughter many times while she is attending the university, we will not be staying at this hotel and we recommend that you keep searching for a different place to lay your head- this was terrible!

Room Tip: My advice to get a good room? Stay at a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SqueekieO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternJTB, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Jacksonville, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Good Day,

I would like to take this opportunity thank you your time sharing your thoughts and opinions about your stay with us. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience you encountered during your visit to our hotel. In all fairness, certain aspects of your booking do need to be taken into consideration regarding your stay with us. In researching your comments through our interactive user interface, I see that you booked your reservations through an online hotel auction site. These sites as many know allow potential guests to realize substantial savings off even discounted rates, such as those for UNF, but do not allow the bidder to select specific rooms or room types. This is how a guest such as yourself is able to purchase accommodations at wholesale rates; but these sites do have a downside in that if a hotel is sold out of a particular room type upon your arrival, you may receive a room type that is not to your preference. Our team always strives to honor these requests whenever it is possible but when the hotel is sold out of the room type preference, in your case non-smoking, we cannot "bump" another guest who has confirmed reservations for a non-smoking room for a guest who has purchased a non-specific "run-of-house" room. In these situations, our team works as hard as possible to resolve this to make our guests as comfortable as possible.

We also offer a UNF rate, which is lower than the others you have mentioned in your review and using this discount plan, you are able reserve the specific room type preference you have, non-smoking, and this is guaranteed unlike your auction site reservation. I highly recommend always checking with a hotel directly for discounts as opposed to using any online booking website. It is almost guaranteed that a hotel can save you money over these online agencies and assure you of the room type you want.

I have shared your feedback regarding our breakfast buffet with our food service team members and this information will be used to insure that should we run out of particular items that they are replenished in a more timely manner to insure that all guests have a selection of foods to choose from for breakfast in a time frame that accommodates their needs. I appreciate this comment as we can only improve if we know that an issue is being encountered.

In order to provide you with the excellent experience that you deserve, I would like to invite you back to our property and ask that you contact me directly to discuss your stay and allow me to make arrangements for your next visit to our beautiful city.

Yours in hospitality,
Your BEST WESTERN Hotel General Manager and Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    199
    152
    86
    79
See reviews for
261
187
81
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sugar Hill, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Coming from South Carolina, we were looking for a good stop the night before we leave on a cruise. We found this property using Hotwire for $45 plus tax. We were pleasantly surprised. Parking was easy and we got a good size, clean room with breakfast. The shower faucets could need an update. The breakfast was warm but the staff seemed to be a little overwhelmed. Not sure if the breakfast room would have met all health and safety codes that morning. All in all a good deal for the price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank togel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolton, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I recently visited the Best Western in Jacksonville, Florida during the 2013 Men's Basketball Masters Tournament. My team was from Chicago. And Best Western Jacksonville was a very gracious host. Everyone from the front desk manager to the cleaning staff saw to it that all of our needs were met. Everyone took the time to greet me and that made me feel right at home...away from home. The next time I am in the area, I will definitely be staying at the Best Western.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 8, 2013

had to make a pit stop to stay at a hote the first 1 I came to was Best Western on JT the first 1 I came to was Best Western on JTV Southpoint I was welcome to with a huge smile and wonderful customer service. very clea they had everything they had everything I needed a restaurants to eat restaurants to eat at the store and everything else. My dog was welcome to with doggie treats and friendly hands to rub his ears. This is got to be the best hotel in Jacksonville I most certainly would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mammamiany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
Reviewed February 7, 2013

It was very nice!! The room had a flatscreen, the hotel and the lobby was very nice. The staff was also nice and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to others, especially for the price of the room and great location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnwell, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Great rates, a great location on I-95 and a very good hot breakfast. This is a favorite stop for my husband and I when traveling to and from south/central Florida. Rooms are always clean and the staff is very helpful. We had a special request during our last visit and the desk clerk was very accommodating. A variety of places to eat are located nearby including Applebee's, Cracker barrel, McDonalds, Wendy's, Sonic, Zaxby's and others.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed one night here on our way to Florida from Ontario, Canada. Very impressed with the friendly staff, the cleanliness of the hotel and the breakfast the next morning. Also close to restaurants for dinner.
Would absolutely stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlejeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jacksonville hotels
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Jacksonville
0.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jacksonville
Candlewood Suites Jacksonville
#48 of 133 in Jacksonville
186 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Jacksonville Butler Blvd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Jacksonville Plaza Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Jacksonville - Southpoint
16.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Jacksonville Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Jacksonville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Jacksonville

Property: Wyndham Garden Jacksonville
Address: 4660 Salisbury Rd, Exit 344, Butler Blvd, Jacksonville, FL 32256-6130 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel JTB/Southpoint)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Jacksonville 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Garden Jacksonville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Jtb / Southpoint Hotel Jacksonville
Best Western Jacksonville
Jacksonville Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing