We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bottomline: gross and disgusting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Super 8 Jacksonville South
Ranked #110 of 134 Hotels in Jacksonville
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Came in town to watch the bears fillet the jaguars. That was the only highlight. This hotel was rundown and shady as they come. For starts our toilet was coming out of the wall and leaked all over on the bathroom floor. The bed and comforter was so dirty, disgusting and full of holes that my girlfriend went out and bought a blanket set so that we could sleep in the bed. The television got 5 channels all the rest said they were no longer available. We called front desk to get a can to the game it took over an hour completely killing all pregame plans. The whole hotel was dirty and had random people just meandering around. It was so dirty, we were scared to even check out the complimentary breakfast. Wouldn't stay here again if it was free!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank NEAL S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prem P, Manager at Super 8 Jacksonville South, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Guest,
It certainly sounds like your recent stay was not up to our standards, and the standards that our other guests have enjoyed.
We make every effort to offer clean and well maintained rooms, and we are unaware of any recent television issues - our cable provider supplies over 65 channels.
Additionally, we will soon be serving an upgraded SuperStart breakfast that will include waffles, cereal, cinnamon rolls, yogurt, fruit and more.

Do visit us again, iand if you should have any concerns, please let us know while you are here so we can correct them.

The Cab Company making you wait during a game day?? Sorry, we cannot control that one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 199 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. Good experience. I've had worst at different places where I payed more. Good room service. Clean bed/sheets/bathroom/shower. Friendly staff. WIFI works good! Conditioner and fan worked absolutly amazing. THANK YOU. Definitely would come again if I have to.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SeattleAllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 22, 2012

Thank you for your response. Will see you in near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed here briefly while on a short trip. The hotel was clean. The check in was quick and effortless. The floors were clean. The free breakfast was the typical free breakfast: waffles, bagels, pastries, cereal and drinks. For the low rate I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 22, 2012

Thank you for your response. Will see you in near future. Please recommend to others.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Went to Jacksonville for a weekend trip and stayed at this hotel. I was surprised how clean the hotel was. I felt like I was in a four star hotel. The hotel stay was very quite althoghit is on a busy street. Hotel was kind of in a business industrial district where a lot of businesses had closed down. I have to give my thumbs up to the management for keeping the rooms so clean. This hotel did not have a pool, but I didn't need one. I will be writing management on how the clean the room was.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a non-smoking room, and a room with a fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vr0nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 22, 2012

Really appreciate for your time. Will see you on your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

I stayed here with my family on our way to Disney World. I didn't know anything about jacksonville and was choosing this motel based on reviews and price. It is not worth the money. The hotel had a weird odor to it, there were bugs on the floor. And at night, there are strange people walking around. I have an 8 and a 4 year old. I didn't feel safe. It's next to a Burger King and a truck place next door. There is an adult store across the street. I've stayed at other Super 8's in other regions, and this is by far the worst of them all! Pay a little more and stay somewhere else. even if it is for 1 night just to get some shut eye.

Room Tip: If you MUST stay at this hotel... try to stay on the first floor so you can run to your car faster i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

We felt they had "ripped" us off, we had a coupon for a room ($39.95), they asked if we wanted a room with a micro fridge, I said yes, guy says 6 bucks more, so by the time he had rung up the bill it was 20+ dollars more than the coupon.We were tooo tired to argue with these folks
This place was on a road in front of a busy road, so the traffic can get loud/and some what heavy.We were pretty much off to the end on the ground floor.
We might make a return trip...not sure we would stay there...

Room Tip: If u want to keep some things chilled in a fridge, expect to pay for it,, the micro/fridges are only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CloggieUsa2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

I stayed here for five days for vacation with my family. The beds were confortable, and the room was clean. The continental breakfast was outstanding. I booked my room on Hotwire and got a great deal. Some drawbacks: (1.) There is what looks like a school bus garage next door, so the noise gets loud. (2). The road in front of the motel is very aggressive, so be careful pulling in and out. (3). Like many Hotwire motels, this place gets crowded. There were two parties next to my room the five nights I was here. There is a XXX adult club nearby, which might have led to the rowdy neighbors.

The motel is very reasonable, especially through Hotwire, so I would recommend it. It is generic, no pool. There is a small laundramat on the premisis, and there was a small refrigerator and a mircowave in my room......

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WaltonTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jacksonville hotels
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Jacksonville South / Near Memorial Hospital
Days Inn Jacksonville South / Ne...
#111 of 134 in Jacksonville
289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#86 of 134 in Jacksonville
114 reviews
11.5 mi away
Motel 6 Jacksonville
Motel 6 Jacksonville
#118 of 134 in Jacksonville
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Tricove Inn & Suites
Tricove Inn & Suites
#74 of 134 in Jacksonville
78 reviews
1.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Jacksonville - Lenoir Avenue East
Extended Stay America - Jacksonv...
#97 of 134 in Jacksonville
77 reviews
14.9 mi away
Jacksonville Plaza Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Jacksonville South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Jacksonville South

Address: 5018 University Blvd W, Jacksonville, FL 32216-5938
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 134 Hotels in Jacksonville
Price Range: $52 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Jacksonville South 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Super 8 Jacksonville South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Jacksonville South Hotel Jacksonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing