We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible stay” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Jacksonville Mayo Clinic/Beaches

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Courtyard Jacksonville Mayo Clinic/Beaches
Ranked #46 of 132 Hotels in Jacksonville
Brookhaven, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Terrible stay”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Pool was filthy! Black slime between water line and top of pool.
Vomit smell next to bed by wall..there is no way that housekeeping could've missed it!!!! Was only given a free breakfast..no offer of reduced or free night stay!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ValleyhockeyMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardGM14, General Manager at Courtyard Jacksonville Mayo Clinic/Beaches, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
We are very sorry for the issues that you experienced. As you can tell by the other reviews, these issues do not normally occur at the hotel. As we explained when you contacted Marriott Customer Service we addressed and solved the issues as soon as they were brought to our attentions. Our goal is to fix any issues our guests may experience immediately so that it does not affect the remainder of their stay. We did not feel the issues warranted a free night stay but we did try to compensate you with providing a complimentary breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    65
    43
    14
    15
See reviews for
68
52
31
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

This hotel is very close to the Mayo Clinic, we literally walked to our appointment which we found extremely convenient. The hotel is clean and comfortable, food accessible at all times with a varied selection for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The outdoor pool area is nice and there is a sitting area outside with comfortable chairs if you don't want to be by the pool. We thought the room was well appointed and a good value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilana Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattoon, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

This hotel is a great place to stay if you going to Mayo Clinic. The hotel is on the grounds of the Clinic complex, the Clinic is within easy walking distance, and the hotel offers a shuttle for those can't walk it. The staff is friendly and the food was fine. My room seemed a little dated, but was comfortable enough.

The nightly rate was on the higher end for similiar hotels in Jacksonville, but you are paying for the proximity to Mayo. The hotel is advertised as Mayo Clinic/Beaches, but be forewarned that the beaches are a healthy drive away. Also be forewarned that the only business near the hotel and Clinic is a very crowded gas station.

The bottom line is when I go to Mayo, I'll stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Illinioisian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardGM14, General Manager at Courtyard Jacksonville Mayo Clinic/Beaches, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
I wanted to thank you for the great review and comments about the hotel. Not only is “this a great place to stay if you are going to Mayo Clinic” it’s a great hotel to stay at if you are traveling on vacation. We are only 4 miles from several of Jacksonville’s famed beaches and centrally locate too many things Jacksonville has to offer. There are not many businesses or restaurants located within walking distance to the Courtyard but anything that you can need is within a 5 mile radius of the hotel.

Again, thank you for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, Georgia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Due to a serious illness in our family, we found ourselves in need of a good room that was affordable. We found both at the Courtyard Marriott across from the Mayo Clinic. What we received in addition to a good value and great place to rest and restore ourselves was kindness and compassion. The Customer service we received was second to none. We found all associates we dealt with to be above reproach. They were so kind and willing to work with us in any way we needed. We appreciate their kindness and will recommend them to anyone who asks. I would stay here again anytime.
Thank you Courtyard Staff, Jacksonville Mayo.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CSM2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardGM14, General Manager at Courtyard Jacksonville Mayo Clinic/Beaches, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for the great comments. I have shared your review with the hotel staff and they were very appreciative that you took the time to write this review. We hope your family member is doing better!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

We were here for my wife's surgery so it was a stressful situation. The proximity to Mayo was an obvious plus but our experience was much more than just that. The room was very nice of course, in keeping with the Courtyard brand. The staff was exceptional helping me deal with meals at odd hours, transportation back and forth to the hospital at odd hours and more. While this property would be very good for any traveler, it is a godsend when you are going to Mayo. I whole heatedly recommend it.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed for one Saturday night on a trip home from Florida; we booked through Priceline and rec'd a good rate. Our expectation was to simply crash after a long drive before embarking on another long drive the next day. The room, the facilities, the loveliness of the courtyard, and the check-in all exceeded any expectations we had. It turned out to be a very relaxing, enjoyable evening. Courtyard had nothing to do with the storm raging outdoors which prevented us from sitting on our lovely patio, but the hotel had a nice bistro with good food--not cheap, but very good. We would definitely stay here again and imagine that anyone who was receiving Mayo treatment would feel pampered here during some trying times. And those pillows and mattresses....awesome! Very pretty place, very modern, clean, serene, and efficient.

Room Tip: We loved being on the ground floor--very nice patio, shrubbery, and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank singinintherain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boothbay, Maine
Level Contributor
54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

I stayed at this hotel to attend a conference on the Mayo Clinic Campus. The hotel is an easy and pleasant walk away from the Clinic facilities and is definitely geared to providing lodging for patients and their families, and offers a free shuttle to the Clinic for those who cannot walk, However, this hotel is really a hidden treasure if you are not seeking beachfront accomodations. I will list the reasons why this propery is attractive:
1) Affordable (my conference rate was $75 per night, but the rack rate is not much more than that).
2) Nice layout - central courtyard with a pool and inner-facing rooms have private balconies facing the pool, ample free parking, small gym.
3) All purpose restaurant on-site with bar, serving three meals a day in a casual, bistro setting
4) The grounds of the Mayo Clinic, where the hotel is located, are more like a botanical garden, with fountains, waterways, a bridge to an island, beautiful plants.
5) Rooms - clean, spacious, with small fridge and coffee maker and duvet bed linens for extra cleanliness

The only downside is that there is nothing you can walk to except for the Mayo Clinic. Dining anywhere but the hotel requires a taxi ride unless you have a car. So, I would not recommend this hotel for tourists who do not have a car. Jacksonville Beach is a close destination if you are driving. Some restaurants are only a couple of miles away. I particularly enjoyed ""Marker 32" at the Marina for waterfront dining. Don't let them convince you to go to the "Town Place Mall" to find dining. The estimated cab fare was $12-$15 but the actual fare was $20 one way!

Also be aware that the airport is a 30 minute ride and standard taxi fare to the airport costs $75 one way. The very nice hotel front desk staff can refer you to a private van service to the airport for $60 one way. When I landed at JAX airport I took a shuttle service ride to the hotel for $45 but since Jacksonville is very spread out, by the time all the other guests were delivered to their destinations I had a two hour shuttle ride before arriving at the hotel! My connecting flight from Atlanta to JAX was only 1 hour long, so it was really strange to spend 2 hours getting to the hotel from the airport!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelswithlabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardGM14, General Manager at Courtyard Jacksonville Mayo Clinic/Beaches, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for the great review of the hotel and all of the information you shared about your stay and the surrounding area. Your comments will assist other travelers who are coming to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jacksonville
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Jacksonville - SE Med Center Area
0.3 mi away
The Inn at Mayo Clinic
The Inn at Mayo Clinic
#58 of 132 in Jacksonville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Beach Boulevard/Mayo Clinic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville/Ponte Vedra Beach-Mayo Clinic Area
Hampton Inn Jacksonville/Ponte V...
#2 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Jacksonville Beach
Holiday Inn Express - Jacksonvil...
#5 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville / Ponte Vedra
Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville /...
#2 of 4 in Ponte Vedra Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Jacksonville Mayo Clinic/Beaches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Jacksonville Mayo Clinic/Beaches

Property: Courtyard Jacksonville Mayo Clinic/Beaches
Address: 14390 Mayo Boulevard, Jacksonville, FL 32224
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 132 Hotels in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Jacksonville Mayo Clinic/Beaches 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Jacksonville Mayo Clinic campus, the Courtyard Jacksonville Mayo Clinic/Beaches offers easy access to the Jacksonville Beaches, University of North Florida (UNF), Naval Station Mayport, PGA Offices, and The Players Championship. Take advantage of complimentary clinic shuttle service and stay connected with free Wi-Fi offered throughout our Jacksonville hotel. Use our interactive GoBoard(R), unique among hotels near Mayo Clinic Jacksonville, FL, to easily access directions, find popular restaurants, view local weather & airport conditions, and stay current with the latest in news and entertainment. Choose from a variety menu selections served for breakfast and dinner at The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect(R) or grab a quick snack and other necessities at The Market, open 24 hours. Traveling for business? Enjoy our on-site business center, including free printing, faxing, and copying services. Regardless of your reason for staying, the Courtyard Jacksonville Mayo Clinic/Beaches is ideal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Courtyard Jacksonville Mayo Clinic/Beaches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Jacksonville Mayo Clinic/Beaches Hotel Jacksonville
Jacksonville Courtyard
Jacksonville Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing