We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HORRIBLE!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
Ranked #102 of 133 Hotels in Jacksonville
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“HORRIBLE!!!!!”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

My "nonsmoking" room smelled of cigarette smoke; there were cigarette burns in the bedsheets, human hairs all over the bed, and unidentifiable stains all over the lampshades; the refrigerator was running but not cool; the bathroom faucet was corroded; the TV remote didn't work; the furniture & carpet were dusty; the furniture was chipped & scratched; the whole place was in desperate need of renovation. The lamps were unplugged & I had to move the furniture, including the king-sized bed, to reach the electrical outlets. After spending 30 minutes trying to clean the room with antibacterial wipes I had thankfullly brought with me, I returned to the front desk to inform the clerk that the accomodations were unacceptable. I said, "I'm sorry but I can't sta--" at which point he interrupted me & said, "Ok, I can check you out right now!" Obviously, he was used to guests refusing to stay. He didn't apologize, didn't ask what the problem was, didn't offer a different room, nothing! When I asked if the $143 charged to my credit card would be refunded, he stated not for 3 days. I explained that I needed that credit to book a room at another hotel, to which he replied, "Well, that's unfortunate" with a smirk on his face. When I persisted, he informed me that it was my problem and I could call my bank and take care of it myself. I explained three times that it was a credit card, not a debit card, and that it was not affiliated with my bank. He told me again that it was my problem to deal with, not his. Of course, when I called the credit card company, I was told they could not do anything about the charge unless the merchant called with the merchant # & authorization #. The charge still has not been reversed. Each time I call and ask for the manager, I am told he is not available. Anyway, I ended up at the Residence Inn next door. I told the clerk at Residence Inn that I had come from the "not-so-Quality Inn" next door, and she said, "Yes, we get a lot of people coming in saying that." DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelle h, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
I apologize you had such a horrible experience at this property, however, I AM HAPPY to say we are under new ownership and the hotel is 1000 better than before. We just reopened in June 2014 after doing some wonderful renovations. I truly hope you give a chance to show you in the future that we are so much better than the previous owners!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    19
    23
    27
    49
See reviews for
47
34
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Appears to be an older hotel, located among many others in this location. Room was decent, clean and the beds were comfortable. Some of the ice machines were out of service and appeared to be that way for quite some time. It could use some repairs but definitely not a bad place. They do have a free breakfast but I didn't have an opportunity to eat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room buy the stairs, the hotel layout is a bit awkward, this will help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelle h, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
I am glad to hear that your previous visit to this property was okay, however, I want to let you know that we are under new management and everything is 1000 better. We have completed renovations and look forward to meeting your lodging needs again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Please listen I read the reviews before I took my family but thought people just was saying bad things but listen it is a terrible place to stay it sticks, hot tub didn't work, work room didn't work, mold in the room, Came back from an outing the key didn't work the battery in the door went out. The pool was dirty but I can say the housekeeper was nice. Please don't stay there.

Room Tip: Read reviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelle h, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
I apologize you had such a bad stay at this property, however, I AM HAPPY to say we are under new ownership and the hotel is 1000 better than before. We just reopened in June 2014 after doing some wonderful renovations. I truly hope you give a chance to show you in the future that we are so much better than the previous owners!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jacksonville hotels

Spring Hill, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I usually stay @quality inns but this one was the worst. The staff was not very helpful wifi password didn't work, non smoking room smelled of smoke/air freshener mixed on/off button on tv remote would not work lights over the beds would not work The jacuzzi was roped off with yellow caution tape running through chairs all soda vending machines were out of order. We reserved a suite well their impression of a suite is what everyone else calls a room with a chair and a desk not even a table. My son went to front desk to complain & see if it could be resolved he was told "sorry my manager is probably sleeping I will let him know tomorrow". The only good thing I can say is the sheets were clean (about the only thing that was) and the beds were comfortable. Due to the cleanliness we opted to go elsewhere for breakfast even though it was included. Avoid this hotel I have stayed at many places that cost less than half of what this one cost and 100 times better. This is the first negative review I have ever written about a hotel. Will never return ever!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaF635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelle h, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
I apologize you had such a horrible experience at this property, however, I AM HAPPY to say we are under new ownership and the hotel is 1000 better than before. We just reopened in June 2014 after doing some wonderful renovations. I truly hope you give a chance to show you in the future that we are so much better than the previous owners!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sc
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on the first night of our vacation and were shocked at how bad the room was. Holes in bathroom door, mold all over the bathroom, dirty dust covers on the beds, lamp shades that looked burned, dirty coffee pot, dirty fridge, filthy floors...I could go on and on. The good...the staff at the counter were excellent and the breakfast was very nice. We complained and got a full refund. Turns out the hotel was foreclosed on just a few days earlier. They are doing the best they can under the circumstances, but until someone invests in this hotel, or the bank who now owns it does repairs, it is not the place to stay at. Very unsanitary....the only way I could stay was to spray everything in the bathroom with lysol before using it. Also, as we were packing our car the cleaning crew went into our room and started stripping sheets. WE STILL HAD THINGS IN THE ROOM!!!!! We had our water bottles in the fridge and she actually took all of them out and was about to dump them when we walked into the room. We still had another hour until check out time!

I have two teen daughters and I would not allow them out of my sight because I did not like the look of many of the other guests. What so sad is that it looks like this hotel used to be very nice at one time. Aparently the owner just walked away some time back. Sad, very sad.

Room Tip: If you must stay, they are only using their "best" rooms at this time. Even their best ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelle h, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
I apologize you had such a horrible experience at this property, however, I AM HAPPY to say we are under new ownership and the hotel is 1000 better than before. We just reopened in June 2014 after doing some wonderful renovations. I truly hope you give a chance to show you in the future that we are so much better than the previous owners!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
Reviewed March 28, 2013

for the price and for the excellent location, this motel offers a good option. The beds were comfortable. The staff is nice. The continental breakfast + waffles/cereal etc. was adequate even if the biscuits were hard. The hot tub and pool were more than adequate. It does need some maintenance. Prepare to walk a little further for ice. But the furnishings and room size were great compared to some of the newer hotels. The location is superb. And compared to paying $120 a night at the Residence Inn next door, or paying $45 for the lower clientele/lower services at the Motel 6 down the street, it turns out to be a good value. Pay the $55/night here. You won't find better in South Jacksonville for cheaper. If cost is not a factor, go next door to the Residence Inn. And if you are a business traveler Monday through Thursday there is a happy hour with free aud'hoerves [sic] and beer.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelle h, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
We look forward to meeting your lodging needs as the new owners of this property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I have been staying here several times a year for business for quite some time now and its getting to where I will take my business elsewhere. The location is great for me but the property and clientele is looking worse everytime I come back. I hate it because the staff is so nice and they really try but the last couple of visits have been a bit scary. I have been accosted in the parking lot by a couple wanting me to pay for their room at a hotel down the street and rather unsavory guests with unleashed dogs wandering about. The rooms are OK but very very tired and worn out. Its a shame because its convienent to South Jax, very reasonable rates and in a quiet area. I think I will take my business elsewhere in the future..........

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollywoodGrizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelle h, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
I apologize you had such a horrible experience at this property, however, I AM HAPPY to say we are under new ownership and the hotel is 1000 better than before. We just reopened in June 2014 after doing some wonderful renovations. There have been major changes since the buyout. The property is also now pet free. I truly hope you give a chance to show you in the future that we are so much better than the previous owners!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jacksonville hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Baymeadows
Comfort Suites Baymeadows
#55 of 133 in Jacksonville
217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Jacksonville/Baymeadows Hotel & Conference Center
0.4 mi away
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Jacksonville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#82 of 133 in Jacksonville
111 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tricove Inn & Suites
Tricove Inn & Suites
#75 of 133 in Jacksonville
63 reviews
2.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Jacksonville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Property: Quality Inn & Suites
Address: 8333 DIX Ellis Trl, Jacksonville, FL 32256-8294
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 133 Hotels in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn & Suites Baymeadows Hotel Jacksonville
Quality Inn And Suites Baymeadows
Quality Inn Baymeadows
Jacksonville Quality Inn
Quality Inn Jacksonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing