We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Natilla rocks!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Havana-Jax Cafe

Havana-Jax Cafe
Ranked #941 of 1,983 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Latin, Cuban, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Beach Blvd. & Atlantic Blvd
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Natilla rocks!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

Recently stopped in for lunch and thoroughly enjoyed it. I had the Havana jax salad and my friend had the piccadillo which we shared. Everything was very tasty! I have to admit that my favorite was the creamy custardy Natilla that I had for dessert. The dining area is nice and open with that cuban flare. I was intrigued by the band set-up on the other side of the dining room...a night time visit is definitely in order!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DeeDeeDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    14
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ponte Vedra, Fl
Level Contributor
128 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Not the same restaurant of olden days”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

I went to Havana Jax for lunch with some business associates and I decided to try their ropa vieja. It was very disappointing; this is a typical Cuban dish of shredded beef, not complicated. It was close to a brisket where there were large chunks of bees rather than shredded, no self-respecting Cuban would serve this. We also ordered some fried yucca which was not edible, very greasy and hard, not well selected or cooked. In the past years I have visited the restaurant and it was quite good, no longer. The Cuban sandwiches were OK, no complaints from those who ordered them as well as the black beans. Service was also good.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tsolano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful!! Old World charm, taste-tempting menu, perfect waiter!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

When we are in the mood for Cuban-American dishes, this is our restaurant of choice. Havana-Jax is undoubtedly Jacksonville's best kept secret. My whole family raves about it. They even ask for H-J gift certificate's when celebrating that special anniversary or birthday! Love the empanadas! The plantains are yummy, the pork is moist and tasty, papa frita's with mojo sauce is sooo good. The waiter is charming, with his grace and elegance at serving. Why can't every waiter be like that? The entire experience was just delightful. Top it all off with flan or the egg custard dessert and you'll be ready to dance some of it off next door at Cuba Libre. You simply can't go wrong for a beautiful, special evening: Great food, fantastic waitstaff, convenient location where Atlantic and Beach meet, close to St. Nicholas area. Try it once, and I'll bet like our family, you'll be back again and again.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TrippingLizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very authentic & traditional dining..."”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

I recently had lunch with a friend and we both really enjoyed the Cuban Black Bean Soup.
Reasonalby priced and full of flavor !!! Lunch was delicious !!! The staff is very attentive and I went back to see a traditional band play on the nite club side - "Cuba Libre." This is a fun night spot, with dancing and after hours entertainment.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TiaraPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

I always enjoy Havana Jax. Normally order the picadillo, which is awesome, but today went with the lechon asado, which was really good. Also tried the tres leches - very good. Nice, quiet atmosphere for lunch. It's somewhat pricey for lunch (mine was $15), but worth it if you know what to expect going in...

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank whatwyatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Havana-Jax Cafe also viewed

Jacksonville, FL
Jacksonville, FL
 

Been to Havana-Jax Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing