We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Solid Sushi Staple”
Review of Sake House

Sake House
Reserve with OpenTable
Sake House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #370 of 2,013 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Solid Sushi Staple”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

A very solid sushi choice in Jacksonville. We have eaten at the Avondale location and the Southside Blvd. location. The staff make you feel like a regular even if you are not. Everything was perfect. We have had fresh items, rolls, (Rock n Roll, Times Square, Dynamite, Lobster) soups, salad, hibachi. Even if you are getting sushi try a side of their fried rice.

Oh Yes economical, 4 people, sake, beers, sushi, gyoza, edamame, more sushi.....$98

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank G6T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    11
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Sushi”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is the first place I come to eat when I fly in from Virginia. The sushi is outstanding and the service wonderful. I am greeted with smiles and remembered from the previous visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“True Sushi”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

There maybe other 'sushi' restaurants in the neighborhood BUT a sushi restaurant should be judged by the quality of it's fish unadorned. It is easy to hide the quality by the addition of mayo, cream cheese or deep fried...if you are craving sushi or sashimi Sake House will not disappoint.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacksonville_FLKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Sushi any day!”
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Sake House is around the corner from my office. I like to get sushi for lunch, partial for the quiet ambiance and great service.

The sushi is amongst the best I have had.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Waylawfirm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very unfriendly "policies" customers are not #1”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

When we moved to Avondale/Riverside, we had one of our first meals at Sake House on Lomax. the sushi and other items ordered were very good.
However, the "manager's" rules do not create customer satisfaction, what's more, a desire to return. Last summer we went into the Lomax location to celebrate a birthday, at 5 pm. the restaurant was empty, and we requested one of the japanese seating areas. we were told "no" because only parties of 4 or more can sit there. We pointed out the restaurant was empty, the hostess said NO you can't sit there, it's our policy. We left and they lost the $100 we would have spent. 9 months later we go the the new location in Avondale (thinking it was still Ginsu Sushi), ordered the recommended sake, really really didn't like it and wanted to exhange for a different bottle. We were told no, against our policy. I insisted, and they continued to say no and apologize. We asked for the check, paid for the $13.95 undrunk sake, and left for another restaurant. Again, Sake lost revenue due to inflexibility. We won't return, and won't recommend t our friends. Too bad, we just wanted to eat some good sushi!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Agdahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sake House also viewed

Jacksonville, FL
Jacksonville, FL
 

Been to Sake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing