We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Staycation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riverdale Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riverdale Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Jacksonville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
pNTE vEDRA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Staycation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

We live in Nocatee (Ponte Vedra) and love to explore Riverside, Avondale, and San Marco area.

Read about the Riverdale Inn on Trip Advisor and thought it would be great to stay close to area and get a feel of the community up close.

Our host at the Inn was Eric and he made us feel right at home. Great Rooms, great hospitality, and Eric makes a scrumptious Omelet in the mornings. His pal Lola watch over everything.

This place is within walking distance to Five Points and the Riverside Arts Market on the river.

A great stay and lots to do.

Room Tip: Go to their website and view rooms online to make your decision.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vance j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    54
    13
    3
    4
See reviews for
50
164
33
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christmas, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

Much better than any hotel stays. It was like a home away from home. Very nice room. Very pleasant people. Breakfast was great with choices of omelets, eggs, or pancakes cooked to order. When I go back to Jacksonville this will be my first choice of places to stay.

Room Tip: Do not pick the top floor unless you really like climbing stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

This is simply a great place! A beautifully restored 100 years old wooden Victorian style mansion in the heart of Jacksonville's historic Five Points. Each room is furnished differently and still has this authentic feel to it.The proud owners provide great hospitality and friendly service. In this green neigborhood stores and good restaurants are just around the corner within walking distance as is Memorial Park along the St Johns's river and Riverside park if you want to go for a stroll or run. I am in Jacksonville for business almost every month and this has become my second habitat and hideaway after a long and busy day!

Room Tip: Any room is good. The rooms on the 3rd floor are spacious and very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
309 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

My husband and I spent two wonderful nights in the third floor Windsor Suite last weekend. We were kindly greeted upon check-in and made to feel right at home.
The first floor of the inn has a beautiful sitting room with a fireplace adorned with books and cozy couches. A delicious made-to-order breakfast is served daily in the large first floor dining room (the banana bread and eggs are especially yummy!) The bar in the furthest back side of the first floor is one of a kind! It's operated on a honor system, where you can serve yourself, write it down and it will be added to you your tab. What a great idea!
Our room in the Windsor Suite was fantastic, with Riverdale Inn embossed soaps, plush bath robes, a walk-in shower and glorious Jacuzzi tub. The windows in the room offer an amazing view of the outside of the Inn and historical surroundings.
My husband and I only planned on staying for the two nights that we had previously reserved. Since we were having such a wonderful stay, we chose to stay an extra night. We spent our third night in a room in the Inn's back house, which was also very lovely and extremely comfortable.
I can't recommend the Riverdale Inn highly enough!!!


The Jacuzzi

Room Tip: The Windsor Suite is a little piece of heaven. It's ideal for a honeymooning couple or romantic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Stayed at the inn last weekend to attend a performance at The Times Union Center but because of the inn's awesome location on Riverside, I was able to pop over to the Riverside Art Market, explore Five Points and go to the Boat Show at the Prime Osbourne Convention Center plus catch the performance in the evening, all in one day. Our room was beautiful ... we stayed in the carriage house and it was like having our own private apartment.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

and it was like coming home. My sister-in-law and favorite traveling companion first visited this charming Inn January 2012 for my birthday. This time we visited again October 2013 for her birthday. Both trips we took advantage of Living social deals. If possible, the Riverdale Inn was even more beautiful. We split our trip between 2 nights in the St. John room with a fabulous window seat, 4 nights in Jax Beach, and 2 more nights in the elegant Roosevelt room. Breakfast is excellent and gave us a great start to hours of shopping and exploring the 5 Points and King Street areas, all within walking distance. We enjoyed walking along the River, and we also took the trolley to Jacksonville Landing. The entire staff is awesome and made us feel like a part of the family. We spent a fair amount of time at Starbucks, and highly recommend 2 of our favorite restaurants: The Cozy Tea and The Black Sheep (try the rooftop bar). Thank you so much for the great time and memories. We will be back!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

To Bob and Company: Thank you so much!
My husband and I were in town over Christmas for his surgery... it was a stressful time for both of us. The entire staff of Riverdale Inn was incredible! They made us feel at home, at ease, and, while Jim was in the hospital, I felt completely secure. They went well above and beyond to accommodate us and make our stay as pleasant as humanly possible. As an extra bonus, the property is magnificent... well maintained, spotless, and perfectly located.
Again, thank you very much!!!
Jim & Allison Brown

Room Tip: The room we were in (St. John's) was great... lots of windows, large, very clean bathroom, plent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jacksonville hotels
1.3 mi away
Omni Jacksonville Hotel
Omni Jacksonville Hotel
#11 of 132 in Jacksonville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,771 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Jacksonville - Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Downtown I-95
1.5 mi away
Lexington Hotel & Conference Center - Jacksonville Riverwalk
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville Downtown/Southbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverdale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverdale Inn

Property: Riverdale Inn
Address: 1521 Riverside Ave, Jacksonville, FL 32204-4134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverdale Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverdale Inn in Jacksonville, Florida is located near the heart of the city in the historic Five Points area in Riverside. Our inn features 10 luxury rooms with a full service Pub for the use of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riverdale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverdale Hotel Jacksonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing