We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice drive, even if you never stop” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big Talbot Island State Park

Big Talbot Island State Park
Ranked #11 of 165 things to do in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
168 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Nice drive, even if you never stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

A nice drive through this area. Nice beach, but those are abundant in this area. Great back way to head up to Amelia Island if you are heading that way.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank 112PCS112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    39
    7
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful park”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

This is a very beautiful and scenic park. It's really nice to drive through. My only complaint is that trails are not clearly marked and it is difficult to find a way to get down to the beach. I would definitely go back for the bike trails and kayaking.

Helpful?
Thank sammy608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
82 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great photo op”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

I read about this place on tripadvisor and then we stayed on Amelia Island and did the A1A drive. Unless you want to spend time at the beach swimming and such the rest of Talbot state park has nothing to offer and it costs to park $5. On Amelia we stayed at Amelia Hotel which was next to the beach and so free parking and free beach. So why pay for Talbot beaches? But The Boneyard beach which has an entrance close to the beginning of the park is worth the separate $3 parking fee. YOu park and then walk a trail overlooking the beach. There are cool looking dead trees all over this beach and at the end of the trail you are able to get onto the beach. It should be done at low tide since high tide would cover most of the beach. We greatly enjoyed walking this beach, taking photos and saw birds and a horseshoe crab too. It took abiout 2 hrs but I think I should have brought a picnic and stayed longer. No trashcans available on the beach but there are BA and trashcans in the parking lot at the beginning of the trail.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cchamelion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful Walk!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We parked at the parking area for beach access and walked down the trail at low tide to enjoy a couple of hours exploring the 'boneyard' of dead trees and the low cliffs along the beach. We walked at least 3 miles up and down the beach finding hidden coves, climbing around on the trees, looking in tidal pools. The whole time, we saw one other person and he was off a ways, fishing. It was a perfect way to spend the afternoon.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank ec3forme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Special Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

One of my favorite places to go, get in a good walk and reflect.This place is one of the reasons I love N FL.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sirmette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Talbot Island State Park also viewed

 

Been to Big Talbot Island State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing