We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place with good food!”
Review of The Mossfire Grill

The Mossfire Grill
Ranked #109 of 2,037 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast
Jacksonville, FL
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fun place with good food!”
Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

The night started with tasty chips and salsa and a local Bold City brew - during their everyday happy hour (until 7). The night was followed by an Adobe chicken sandwich for my wife and a meatloaf sandwich for me. It was loaded with greatness - fried onion strings were the best touch! The chipotle cheddar mashed potatoes were fine pairing to the sandwich. Highly recommend the dish and the retardant! We had small kids and they were so friendly to us.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jaxtraveler09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    83
    17
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, FL
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious & Fast”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My husband and I went to Mossfire after not having been for several years, and the experience was fantastic. The food is great, the service is fast and friendly, and the drinks were perfect. Definitely way better than any other tex mex restaurants on that side of town.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank rwolfe618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very Unique”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Great place for locals...upstairs inside or out is great...service good...peanut butter pie is the "BEST"

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KhemQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacksonville,fl
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Food right next to Jax Attractions”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Whether a visitor to Jacksonville checking out the Cummer Museum and other Riverside attractions or a resident- Mossfire is the place to go! Everything that's good about Mexican food with a gourmet twist. Fresh ingredients, that smoky/earthy/spicy flavor, tortilla and tomatoes with none of the heaviness that you get with most Tex-Mex restaurants. Servers are friendly and helpful. We got the lobster chimichangas (delicious) fish tacos (ok) and shrimp bbq tostadas (perfect amount of gooey goodness). Go here!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foodforall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keystone Heights, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dry tuna (haha)”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I had the fish nachos. My friends really talked this place up like it was the most awesome place on riverside. It was OK. The fish nachos were dry and bland. The lady's bathroom was nice and spacious. Good strong margarita's.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mossfire Grill also viewed

 
Jacksonville, FL
 

Been to The Mossfire Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing