We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best BBQ restaurants in the area”
Review of Sonny’s BBQ

Sonny’s BBQ
Ranked #1,329 of 2,038 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Takeout
Description: In 1968, we were just a local BBQ joint in Gainesville, Florida. Today, we're still a local BBQ joint. We just happen to be in a few more locations. But we still do things the same way Floyd "Sonny" Tillman and his wife, Lucille, did back then. We still slow-smoke over oak for up to 12 hours at a time. We still serve generous portions. And we still believe people should be able to go out to eat and feel right at home.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“One of the Best BBQ restaurants in the area”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

The restaurant excels at ribs and pulled pork. The Brunswick soup is also a favorite. Salad bar is average but the sides they offer like corn on the cob and coleslaw are good.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Roadwarrior1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    12
    10
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Orange Park, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“The Sonny's on Kingsley in Orange Park”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Our family has been visiting this restaurant for MANY years. Food is fantastic as is the service. The staff at Kingsley location is fabulous!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anita A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Johns, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I like Sonny's”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We visit Sonny's often. The food is great and the prices are even better. This real soythern style bar-b-q. The baby back ribs are excellent adn my personal favorite.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank rlreags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Awesome food at a great price”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have always loved Sonny's pulled brisket and the turkey. I can't get a better value than the meal deal. Under $8 for a large sandwich, side, and a drink.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Basic Food”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Its like eating at a church BQ with all the fix ins. The portions are adequate but not generous. The service was adequate but not exceptional..

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jackf_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonny’s BBQ also viewed

 
Jacksonville, FL
Jacksonville, FL
 

Been to Sonny’s BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing