We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch”
Review of Metro Diner

Metro Diner
Ranked #5 of 2,038 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My son took me and my husband to Metro Diner for lunch. We had to wait about 15 minutes to be seated but it was worth it. The only problem was they really don't have a place to wait inside when the weather is bad which it was when we went there.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank missjoflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,000
    346
    91
    34
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Over-hyped”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This restaurant was highly recommended by friends. I thought we'd try it. It was early on a Sunday morning right after they opened for the day. I ordered an omelette with home fries and rye bread. The food arrived very quickly. My omelette had a lot of eggs which was just okay as to taste. The egg to filling ratio was bottom good. Too much egg and the fillings, mushrooms, onions, peppers, ham were all burnt. The cheese and tomato were okay just sparse. The home fries looked burnt as well, but the insides were good, so maybe that's how they are served. The rye toast was good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LongWeekendTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Incredible food at great prices”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We have eaten breakfast here many times and have never been disappointed. I defy anyone to eat here and leave still hungry. The service is excellent and the atmosphere is definitely Diner. Try them, you will be convinced.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank billnjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
“Big menu, big breakfast!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Wow, what a big breakfast. A wait for a table, for sure -- but worth it. Their hashbrowns with onion and hot jalapenos was so good! Love hot, spicy food - and this hit the spot. We took friends there from out of town and they were very impressed with this quite small, noisy diner. The service was excellent, our waitress was extremely attentive and kept the coffee coming.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DebbieFromFlorida_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great diner...always good!!!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Metro Diner is my favorite place here in Jacksonville. It doesn't matter if I go for breakfast or lunch, it's fabulous. One of my favorite things to order us the grilled cheese with ham and tomatoes. I usually go to the location in San Marco. I have also been to locations now in Julington Creek and at the Beaches and the quality of food it the same. During my visits at lunch time, I love being able to sit outside to enjoy my lunch, the sites and the weather. You can't go wrong.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PattyBurnette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Metro Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing