We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Breakfast. Crabcake Benedict was so tasty!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Metro Diner

Metro Diner
Ranked #6 of 1,983 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Diner, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awesome Breakfast. Crabcake Benedict was so tasty!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

When I was in Jacksonville visiting a buddy, I wasn't impressed with most of the restaurants. I am so happy that Metro Diner was near my hotel, as their breakfast was so good. I tried the Crabcake Benedict on my first morning there, and ended up having it most of the other days, as it was one of the best breakfasts, I have ever had. A true gem in my opinion.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    903
    328
    84
    31
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Breakfast in America”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

As a Brasilian tourist I went to several restaurants in Florida and Metro Diner seems to be "the real thing" if You are looking for a breakfast in América just like Supertramp use to sing about!

Helpful?
Thank Fabiano S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedmont NC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Local established restaurant ; we liked it so much we ate at two locations - downtown the morning before the game and at Jax beach a couple of days later. There is a wait every morning ( testimony to the popularity) but they move tables very quickly. Wait staff is friendly, helpful and efficient. My husband ate the huevos rancheros - twice! They are served on a bed of crisp tortillas with cheese, onions and chorizo - topped with eggs, hot sauce and jalapeños. The yogurt, granola and berries is the perfect companion to a sweet treat like a waffle or the pecan, raisin French toast - French toast beats the waffle hands down. Coffee is hot; staples like eggs, bacon and sausage are done well. Highly recommend!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank dwhite1913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely place for breakfast and lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

The Metro Diner has a great menu for both breakfast and lunch. The food is prepared very well, and the service is always quick and friendly. Though they are usually crowded, the staff does a wonderful job. The prices are also quite reasonable. We ate there several times.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank random_tangent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
222 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Where the locals go for Breakfast & Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Open only for breakfast & lunch, but an extensive breakfast & lunch menu filled with special items, e.g., breakfast pie and chicken pot pie, make this spot a favorite with the locals resulting in a line from time to time. Thankfully, Metro Diner has expanded into other locations around town.

Service is a bit slow and the atmosphere is close to zero, but the food is very good with large helpings! The chicken pot pie is a take out favorite!!

What's not to like?

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank rolftowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Metro Diner also viewed

 

Been to Metro Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing