We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Food...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Metro Diner

Metro Diner
Ranked #6 of 1,983 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Diner, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Food...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

If it's your first time at Metro Diner you have to try the Chicken & Waffles. You can't go wrong with that. What's not to like? You get chicken AND waffles. The Pittsburgh Steak Salad is pretty good, too. Whatever you get you're sure to be happy! Also, the wait staff is always friendly there.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joneezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    903
    328
    84
    31
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Eclectic choices of food, crummy interior”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

This is the typical place you would never want to go unless someone told you it was good. The food does taste good, but the place is kinda run down and it is always cramped when I go there.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great place to eat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

My husband and I stopped here for lunch based on the recommendation of a friend. We were very glad we did, since our lunch was outstanding. My husband had the meatloaf platter, which he said was excellent and I had a garden salad with a pecan encrusted swai fillet on top. The salad was fantastic and the fish was excellent that was on top (and lots of it). There were so many good things on the menu, I wish we weren't leaving town that day so we could have come back again. Fried chicken and waffles seemed to be one of their signature dishes, but I wasn't in the mood for fried chicken. I can see why they were featured on Diner, Drive-Ins and Dives. Don't miss this place if you are in Jacksonville. They have several locations, but we ate at the one in San Marco on Hendricks Avenue.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NaplesRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Above Average Diner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Great food, standard diner prices, busy weekends - a place to go on a regular basis. Just check the closing times - wish Metro was open for dinner.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Walter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, South Carolina
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“OMG! The best food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We travel often and will visit Diner, Drive-Ins and Dives to see where Guy has visited so we can actually see the food being prepared and what the special are....We visited The Metro on our way from SC to Orlando, FL. I can't express how delicious the food was. My 7yo had chicken pot pie, I had the steak salad and DH had meatloaf both of which were featured on the show. The meals did not disappoint! Huge servings mean you will leave full! Marcus was our server and he was fantastic. The food was so good we stopped again on our way back to SC. This time we had breakfast: pancakes, burrito w/italian sausage and Yo Hala- again all was great and we were fortunate to have Marcus as our server. Warning- the place is small and gets very crowded. However, we arrived at 1:30pm and 9:30am and had less than a 10 minute wait each time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank owb72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Metro Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing