We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Breakfast in Town”
Review of Metro Diner

Metro Diner
Ranked #5 of 2,038 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Arden, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
345 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast in Town”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

The breakfast pie and chicken and waffles are huge. In fact, prepare not to be hungry again until evening. I understand you usually have a wait to get a table, but we arrived about 9 on a Thursday morning, and were immediately seated (although I think ours may have been the only vacant table). They do have chairs lined up on the sidewalk so you can sit if you have to wait. And I was told they'll even take coffee out to the curb-chair-sitters. Service was super, everything was hot and good, and, though a little pricey on some things, the best breakfast place in Jacksonville.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PGinNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,000
    346
    91
    34
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Diner”
Reviewed April 13, 2012

This is a popular place with the locals so be prepared to wait. Never had a bad meal and especially love their eggs benedict!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JBO1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“i got the grease bomb...”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

I didn't watch the episode but discovered this place from researching the area through the Jacksonville Forums here on Tripadvisor. I ordered the breakfast pie and my husband the Pittsburgh sandwich and my children shared a Bissell. Oh we also ordered a Yo Halla just to try. I think i can firmly say that none of the food was something to write home about. My husband said his sandwich was somewhat tasteless....the pastrami was "ok" but he was expecting the coleslaw to give it a bite, but nothing. My Breakfast Pie was a large ramekin of baked ? onions eggs potatoes cheese......and grease. a greasy mess and my belly paid for it later. The Bissell was an average breakfast. My daughters pancakes were hard (ish) discs. I wasn't that impressed with the Yo Hallah either ....a stuffed challah bread with banana pudding and blueberries on top. A cloying sweet mess that didn't make sense to me. My husband liked it though. We didn't finish it. I think if i were to drive by next time, i might stop in and try something else....without all the hype, it's just another diner.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetogogogo...
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“I'm a regular”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Really good diner food. Service is always good, and I haven't had one bad thing yet. I really enjoy the chicken-pot-pie and meatloaf. It's worth the wait. And the new location at the beaches tastes the same as the one off San Marco. I'm pleased to see that the same high standards carried over!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank citrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
“delicious”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Order the french toast with the bananas and goodness!!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank 659monica_b_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Metro Diner also viewed

 

Been to Metro Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing