We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Food”

4 Rivers Smokehouse
Ranked #8 of 2,026 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
Description: 4 Rivers is a family-owned smokehouse specializing in 30-day aged brisket, homemade southern sides and fresh bakery items.
Restaurant details
Description: 4 Rivers is a family-owned smokehouse specializing in 30-day aged brisket, homemade southern sides and fresh bakery items.
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Awesome Food”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

I had the brisket sandwich. I ordered moist vs lean and it was likely the I've had and I eat a lot of BBQ. The sides were generous in size and very tastey. I had collard greens and sweet potato casserole.

Then they top off a great meal with their own bakery. The cupcakes and cakes looked great, but I fought off the temptation.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tropical_Sunrise_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    310
    154
    43
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Gooood BBQ”
Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

I've been to the 4 Rivers locations near Orlando. Driving through Jax was a no brainer to stop here. We had brisket, chicken, slaw and beans. All was fantastic down to the last drop. We enjoy the casual atmosphere and the piped in music.

Helpful?
Thank Arlene32182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bad experience”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Went to this restaurant for the second time last night and came away knowing I will not go back. First off they charged us over $2 for a glass of water. Their excuse was that they gave us a regular cup instead of one that would not be charged for dispensing water. Secondly my meal was very tasteless and not at all memorable. I ordered the Messy Pig which is pulled pork, slaw, pickles and peppers between a hamburger bun. The pulled pork was terrible and completely tasteless, the slaw not at all favorable and the bun stale. One of the crew promised to bring over an ice tea to our table since the dispenser was out. They never did. Overall my meal was not worth much. Maybe it was a bad night there but I don't go back for a second time if my meal is that bad.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tagorddi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia, United States
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great BBQ and tasty sides.”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

The Signature Angus Brisket was tender and had great flavor. Plenty of sides to choose from. Pretty much first come for seating, there is a nice sized covered outdoor area with seating and plenty of fans for keeping you cool in the heat.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Willstravels_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANNA MARIA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Superb barbecue !”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

A good barbecue restaurant is often hard to find but 4 Rivers was exceptional. The sliders were overloaded with meat and you had your choice of meats to fill them! Portions were good and we were all full at the end of our meal. Great sides were available too. There is a bakery section that had some unusual choices such as maple bacon cupcakes and salted carmel fudge. Being a chocoholic I had the salted carmel fudge and it was to die for!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 4136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 4 Rivers Smokehouse also viewed

 

Been to 4 Rivers Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing