We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love it here!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jacksonville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Navy Gateway Inns & Suites
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
148 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Love it here!”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Suites are comfortable and spacious. Room service does a great job keeping the rooms clean. Close to a small fitness center, Golf Course, and plenty of areas to jog/run. The T-Bar on the first deck is open 1500-2100 and a nice place to unwind and sit by the river.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side of building 844 face the St. John's River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NavyCop7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
3
8
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chestertown, Maryland
Level Contributor
137 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I am going to try to write the review as unbiased as I can and let you decide if it is where you want to stay. 3100 Mayport drive will not get you here if you are using a GPS. The staff was very friendly when I checked in after a 12 hour drive to get here. For the most part, the room is quiet. I heard someone above us a few times but only for a minute or two at a time. It wasn't too disturbing. For this trip it was just my wife and me. The hotel is steps from the beach which was nice. there is plenty of food places in the area. The rooms had a full kitchen set up with a full refrig. The bathroom as has been elegantly stated has a sink, a toilet and a shower. Water pressure gets the job done, but if youre looking for a three headed shower that will massage you etc, you wont find it. The bedroom was clean. It had a double bed. for me this was the worst. The bed was comfortable but I'm used to a king size bed so sleeping was difficult. The bed was very comfortable though. We were here in Sept so the AC kept up. The problem with the AC is it is right beside the bed and blows directly on you. Overall, if I had to come down again, I may try the NGIS at Jacksonville NAS instead but for $50, it will do.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stickman9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I stayed at the Navy Gateway Inns and Suites in Meridian, Ms. Naval Station Room #164. This is what I encountered.
1. Soap dish in shower torn off and not replaced
2 Very dirty commode
3. no soap dish on the mount provided by lavatory
4 Stove didn't work
5 Black mold around tub and shower grout
6 Inside bathroom handle came off in my hand

Room Tip: Inspect room before accepting
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inez M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
152 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Right on the beach - perfect location! That is the only good thing.

CONS:
-Roaches - big huge FL roaches in the room!
-AC is horrible. Lowest setting is 73 - but room never reaches that setting in the hot summer months. Air flow is non existent.
-Shower head is the same shower head from boot camp and prisons......yes, prisons! Absolutely no water flow whatsoever.

Do not stay here if you expect comfort. If you just want the beach and a hot room....this is the place for you.....

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank MARATHON-MCPO-USN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seneca, sc
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Navy Gateway Inns and Suites in Mayport, FL July 17-20, 2013. This was the second time we have stayed there. The inn is very clean and is situated directly on a wide beautiful beach with no crowds of people. It is located adjacent to the fames Mayport Jetties which offer great fishing without a boat. Our room was cleaned daily and everything was great except they don't allow the air conditioning to cool lower than about 73 degrees which is warmer that we are used to. A ceiling fan did help though. An in room Keurig Coffee Maker is available and they restock the coffee and supplies each day.

Room Tip: The inn is 3 stories and there is no elevator so you may want to request a ground level floor if tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ktrammell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jacksonville
3.5 mi away
One Ocean Resort & Spa
One Ocean Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Atlantic Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/Oceanfront
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/O...
#3 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jacksonville - Mayport / Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Western Mayport Inn & Suites
6.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Jacksonville Beachfront
Four Points by Sheraton Jacksonv...
#1 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
5.8 mi away
Best Western Oceanfront
Best Western Oceanfront
#6 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Navy Gateway Inns & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Navy Gateway Inns & Suites

Property: Navy Gateway Inns & Suites
Address: 3100 Mayport Rd, Jacksonville, FL 32233
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Jacksonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing