We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easy to Overlook the shortcomings” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Blue Fish

The Blue Fish
Reserve with OpenTable
The Blue Fish is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #36 of 1,983 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Talbot
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Easy to Overlook the shortcomings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

A pleasant setting in the Avondale section of Jacksonville. Had dinner reservations at 7 in the middle of the week. Busy happy hour crowd with a very active bar. We ate in the rear courtyard which was very pleasant; a fountain made for a very nice setting. Staff is very attentive although our server was a bit gruff and had only a minimal understanding of the menu. For example the starch was described as "some kind of potato in gravy". Shortcomings were easy to overlook and we enjoyed a very good and fresh fish dinner. Portions were more than ample and the selection of appetizers was excellent.
We would encourage you to give The Blue Fish a try.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank AJandCV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    78
    26
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

My husband and I visited this restaurant recently on the recommendation of one of our friends. We first sat at the bar and enjoyed their happy hour drinks and then a fish dip appetizer. We sat in the dining room for dinner and had a very enjoyable experience. I had the shrimp & scallop mac and cheese and ordered the light plate instead of the full portion. It was excellent and the shrimp and scallops were very fresh tasting. The portion size was generous considering it was a light plate. My husband had the fried fish and he said it was very good also. We will be back the next time we are in Jacksonville.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NaplesRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arden, North Carolina
Level Contributor
313 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Geat By The Fountain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We were seated in a beautiful outdoor courtyard next to a delightful fountain. Service was pleasant, helpful and attentive. Fresh fish was prepared exactly as we wanted. The only setback, and no big deal for us, was the draft beer offerings (I'm not a fan of Jacksonville brews). All in all, this was a nice evening.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PGinNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Service was great and very accommodating. The food was fresh and delicious. The salads are the best around. This is a very active and vibrant neighborhood so take advantage of the outdoor seating!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CAW1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We went to this restaurent for the first time this past Sun.to meet my brother from Orlando and myself from Savannah,since it was the half way point.The brunch was terrific,with very fresh breads and pastries made on premise and a wonderful selection of breakfast items.I had the steak and crab eggs bendict with cheese grits and it was very good.Cannot wait to go back for another meeting with family or friends.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mdnewman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Fish also viewed

 

Been to The Blue Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing