We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, service slack”
Review of Olive Garden

Olive Garden
Ranked #687 of 2,001 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Penney Farms, FL
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great food, service slack”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Thursday evening. We were seated immediately in a back room. The room had just been opened and we were the second party seated there. Everything was perfectly clean but they had forgotten to put out cutlery. We ordered and our bread sticks and salad were delivered but still no cutlery. I got up and asked and our cutlery arrived quickly with many apologies. I ordered the seafood Alfredo without green garnishes. My partner ordered the pork ribs with ravioli. In due time our food arrived. My Alfredo was covered with green thingies. When I reminded them of my request they apologized and took it back to the kitchen and, almost immediately returned with another plate of food minus the garnish. The seafood Alfredo was absolutely delicious. My partner said her ribs had excellent flavor but could have been a little more tender.

We'll go to this restaurant again, I'm sure. Over all, we enjoyed our meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    17
    18
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philly
Level Contributor
72 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Total Disorganization”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This place needs a lot of help ! They were the most disorganized restaurant I have ever been. Two people in our group got their food before we were even done our salads. They were done eating, before anyone else even got their food. Then when the rest of the food came out, theirs was there too. They had been given someone elses food ! No one ever even gave an apology. No refills for anything other than alcohol were ever offered. You had to practically beg to get another water. Then when we were leaving, it took five requests of three different people to get some to go silverware for the leftovers. Staying in a hotel, that was a definate need. I would never go back to that Olive Garden.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessyea1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Its the Olive Garden”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

good food service ok normal for national chain enjoy Olive Garden its my 83 year old mothers favorite spot for diner

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Poor atmosphere”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We go to the Avenues Olive Garden 2-3 times a month. The food is so so and service is about the same. The salads are always terrible with dead or lettuce core used every time. The core of the lettuce should be thrown away instead of served to paying customers. I typically get the lasagna which is sometimes very good and sometimes not. I have had my meal comped more than once here because the meal was not up to standards. I don't go out to eat to get a free meal--I want good food! There is no consistency with this restaurant.
The atmosphere is poor in this place as you can hear every single table's conversations. This is kind of a low rent place and the customers are not very classy. It's ok for if you are getting the inexpensive soup and salad but do not waste your money on the higher priced meals.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JJTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
92 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Olive Garden is Olive Garden”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The food is fine and so is the service. My friends and I go there for lunch when we have a coupon. I like their bread.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olive Garden also viewed

 

Been to Olive Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing