We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great N and S Indian Food”

Masala Indian Cuisine
Ranked #171 of 2,038 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Buffet, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Buffet, Reservations
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great N and S Indian Food”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stopped in here while traveling in Florida. My family loves Indian food, and we especially like traditional South Indian cuisine, so we were thrilled to find this place. The service was very good. The food was also very tasty. We ordered idli, a dosa, and some vegetarian/rice entrees. We were happy with the food and the value was good too.

My one concern was that we ordered a masala dosa (rice) with cheese. I think we got a ravva (Wheat & rice) masala dosa with cheese. It was heavier and a different texture than the usual dosa and my gluten-sensitive child was sick the next day. That's the only thing I can think of that could have been an issue. We didn't think about it at the time we were eating because we assumed we got the regular dosa that we ordered. Anyway, that would be a concern.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie010149021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    29
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
“I'm On My Way There Right Now!”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

I love this place! Very well seasoned food and the buffet is to die for. I've been going here for years and I don't plan on stopping. It's a must try restaurant! :-)

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kafil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North America
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Average Indian Fare”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We enjoyed this Indian restaurant and were happy to have found one in the area of the hotel we were staying in. We've eaten at other Indian restaurants around the country and although this one was bad, it wasn't exceptional either. The Lamb curry (medium spicy) was very tasty, and I preferred it over the Lamb Vindaloo which my husband had as his had more of a tomato sauce flavor than mine did. The Chicken 65 was good, but very spicy, so if you don't like a hot spice don't get it. The Naan bread was okay, but I have had better. The price was average, but the service was excellent. They opened at 5pm and were ready for customers.
All in all I had no complaints, but like I said, nothing really stood out to me as exceptional either.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dont-tell-the-kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hope for the hungry traveller”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Food was definitely fantastic here . We were super tired and hungry from being on the road and wanted a nice hot meal. The Chole Bhature was really authentic, and portions were really very large. Dosa and vada were also good, and the chutneys and sambars that accompanied them were great. Very authentic South Indian. Chicken Biriyani also got a thumbs up.
The people who served could have been a bit more gracious though. They didn't seem too happy to serve us around closing time. I also wish they had the thali menu each night (it wasn't available when I went).
Overall, great food. Especially, there are very few authentic Indian places that serve this kind of South Indian fare.
Cheers !

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BlueSkyAndDaffodilas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Very Bad Experience”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Going there was biggest mistake I did in my life and also recommending to my friends was the huge mistake, The staff do not know how to treat their guest and the service was horrible,The owner or manager was whining with a guy who came to order a buffet complaining he is taking more food , They have clearly mentioned to go buffet and already giving a small plate . The manager or owner don't know how to treat people and their own guest. Please be aware they have nasty service and mannerism .

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Masala Indian Cuisine also viewed

Jacksonville, FL
Jacksonville, FL
 

Been to Masala Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing