We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best chicken house in jacksonville”
Review of Beach Road Chicken Dinners - CLOSED

Beach Road Chicken Dinners
Price range: $5 - $24
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Takeout
Reviewed August 6, 2019 via mobile

Bring the family and enjoy some of the best fried chicken in the city. Dont forget to get the cream peas and mashed taters and gravy. Keep up the amazing job.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 191 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2019 via mobile

I am here at Beach Road Chicken having Sunday lunch on the last day that they are open as the original Beach Road Chicken Dinner place. As of this afternoon the new owner takes over he is the owner of the Seafood Kitchen Restaurants at Atlantic Beach / Neptune Beach and in Orange Park. He is changing a few things.
The current owner came out to thank everyone for coming today and said that the takeout part of the restaurant would still be open for the next few weeks for take out as the new owner does remodeling to the inside and adds some of his own recipes to the menu.
I had my old standby fried chicken, mashed potatoes, gravy cream peas, biscuits and honey, coleslaw and iced tea my friend opted for the fried shrimp and all the fixin's. I will truly miss the old restaurant. I have always loved the family style service and the food has always been great. We have been coming here since we moved to Jacksonville in the mid-60s.
I hope the new owner doesn't change it to much.

Date of visit: June 2019
1  Thank amdfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2019

Ran out of chicken, biscuits, gravy, and cole slaw AGAIN. Hasn't this place been in business long enough to know how many customers to expect? The chicken is much smaller, and much more expensive than it used to be. And the floor was dirty, too - no excuse for that when the wait staff wasn't busy with customers. This used to be one of the best known and best loved restaurants in Jacksonville, a Sunday tradition. Now it's on the rocks, and up for sale. Here's hoping the new owners turn it around and restore it to its former glory.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Swearingen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2019

We drove 30 minutes to get to Beach Rd. Chicken last Sunday. It was 4 pm & they stay open until 6 pm on Sundays. Got there & the parking lot had 1 car in it. Walked to the door & it was locked. A waitress finally came to the door & said they had run out of chicken! How does a chicken place run out of chicken 2 hours or more before they're supposed to close???? I love this place when we get to eat here. So disappointed!!

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank foodlover0723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2019 via mobile

Drove 45 minutes on a Saturday afternoon to get the best fried chicken in JAX. Sooo worth the drive. Busy place but plenty of tables. Friendly service. Food was served hot and PLENTIFUL. The country fried steak was wonderful and the boys had fried chicken; every bone picked clean. Creamed peas, mashed potatoes, gravy, fries, cole slaw....... deliciousness all around. Today’s biscuits were slightly dry but who would notice with a touch of honey. We never leave their hungry. Have never had room to try the desserts!!!!

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank FourCoreys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beach Road Chicken Dinners also viewed

 
Jacksonville, FL
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing