We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place”

Beach Road Chicken Dinners
Ranked #205 of 2,038 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Takeout
Dothan, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

I can't believe I was stationed in Jax several years ago yet never found this little gem! It was absolutely delicious. My husband usually says "chicken is chicken" but this place changed his mind. The service was great and the place is so cozy. We got a large amount of food for a great price. I highly recommend it.

Helpful?
Thank labgirl921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    40
    23
    10
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Southern Fried Chicken?”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

This was my worst fried chicken experience ever. The first time I went in the carry out section asked did they have any baked chicken the girl was very nonchalant and said it would be more than 30 minutes before it would be ready. In my hotel restaurant management days we never told patrons that in a "I don't care voice" I would have at least offered a drink while the patron waited, I was given no indication that any of the staff cared at all whether they lost my business. I went again a few weeks later via a friend who wanted to try it because they said that it smelled so good as they passed by everyday. We went in to sit down in the restaurant(I was hesitant, my hesitation did not fail me) we ordered the plate of whole fried chicken I ordered the fries they ordered something else I can't even remember because it was so bad. They brought a bowl of some thick sweet pea soup that we didn't order and said it came with the meal, it was like glue. our chicken was dry and hard, I will never return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Merry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best Fried Chicken Ever”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

You do not stay in business this long unless your food is great. Chicken crunchy on the outside and juicy on the inside. Sides are plentiful and tasty. Service was very good. The place is old but well kept and clean. Only place to get real fried chicken in this area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KarenGY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Southern Fried Chicken”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I have eaten here for over forty years. The chicken is very good. Not much has changed as far as the quality of the food. Some of the employees have been here for over fifty years. They treat you like family.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 8662cardio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really good southern comfort food”
Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

I've been coming here since I was a child. It's a staple in Jacksonville, and for good reason. The chicken is so good. That's all I've had as far as meat is concerned. But I've had all the sides and they are incredible. I'm not a huge fan of peas, but theirs is in some cream sauce and I swear I could eat the whole bowl myself. It's not a huge place so it can get crowded at times but it's worth it. My only complaint is the sharing fee. Think it's something like $7 to share a meal. You get so much food one meal can easily be split. But by the time you add the sharing fee, you might as well by two. Oh well. It's worth the money!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrsjinx84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beach Road Chicken Dinners also viewed

Jacksonville, FL
Jacksonville, FL
 
Jacksonville, FL
 

Been to Beach Road Chicken Dinners? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing