We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Southern Fried Chicken?” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beach Road Chicken Dinners

Beach Road Chicken Dinners
Ranked #249 of 1,983 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Southern Fried Chicken?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

This was my worst fried chicken experience ever. The first time I went in the carry out section asked did they have any baked chicken the girl was very nonchalant and said it would be more than 30 minutes before it would be ready. In my hotel restaurant management days we never told patrons that in a "I don't care voice" I would have at least offered a drink while the patron waited, I was given no indication that any of the staff cared at all whether they lost my business. I went again a few weeks later via a friend who wanted to try it because they said that it smelled so good as they passed by everyday. We went in to sit down in the restaurant(I was hesitant, my hesitation did not fail me) we ordered the plate of whole fried chicken I ordered the fries they ordered something else I can't even remember because it was so bad. They brought a bowl of some thick sweet pea soup that we didn't order and said it came with the meal, it was like glue. our chicken was dry and hard, I will never return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Merry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    39
    21
    10
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best Fried Chicken Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

You do not stay in business this long unless your food is great. Chicken crunchy on the outside and juicy on the inside. Sides are plentiful and tasty. Service was very good. The place is old but well kept and clean. Only place to get real fried chicken in this area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KarenGY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Southern Fried Chicken”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

I have eaten here for over forty years. The chicken is very good. Not much has changed as far as the quality of the food. Some of the employees have been here for over fifty years. They treat you like family.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 8662cardio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really good southern comfort food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

I've been coming here since I was a child. It's a staple in Jacksonville, and for good reason. The chicken is so good. That's all I've had as far as meat is concerned. But I've had all the sides and they are incredible. I'm not a huge fan of peas, but theirs is in some cream sauce and I swear I could eat the whole bowl myself. It's not a huge place so it can get crowded at times but it's worth it. My only complaint is the sharing fee. Think it's something like $7 to share a meal. You get so much food one meal can easily be split. But by the time you add the sharing fee, you might as well by two. Oh well. It's worth the money!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mrsjinx84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best chicken (yes its better then the Colonels [KFC]) In the USA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

I LOVE this chicken
They have lots of chicken option and magnificent sides if you also live in Jax FL YOU MUST GO there

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beach Road Chicken Dinners also viewed

 

Been to Beach Road Chicken Dinners? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing