We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Down Home Cooking”

Beach Road Chicken Dinners
Ranked #211 of 2,026 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Takeout
Sebastian, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
858 reviews
384 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 538 helpful votes
“Down Home Cooking”
Reviewed December 14, 2011

I've been going to Beach Road since 1972. The little house is old, not fancy, and the chairs a bit uncomfortable. But-- the chicken is excellent. Now open for lunch, we've gone midday as well as for dinner. The cream peas, fries, rice, and mashed potatoes haven't changed in years. The mashed potatoes have always tasted "instant" so we never order them. Everyone else is great and we always get refills. It's not fancy just down home good. My husband always saves room for on of their cobblers. His favorite is cherry. If you're looking for a fine dining experience, stay away. However, if you're looking for a chicken dinner like grandma used to make, sit down and loosen your belt, and enjoy.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank barbaragwen270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    40
    23
    10
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Decent but not outstanding”
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Look for a good fried chicken restaurant and after find a number of reviews online, decided to try the Beach Road Chicken restaurant. They have been around since the 30's and have a loyal following. I went on a Sunday night around 5PM. They were busy but not bad. I was seated right away and the waitress arrived promptly to take my order. The meal was served within minutes of ordering and all the food was hot and well prepaired. My selection consisted of a mixture of a wing, breast and thigh along with cream pees, fries, coleslaw and gravy. The chicken was decent but, if you don't like salt then this chicken is not for you. It was moist inside but a bit too salty for my tastes. The other items were decent and overall, you get you're monies worth.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“All you can eat veggies”
Reviewed October 23, 2011

The chicken had a different batter than chain restaurants. The veggies were all you could eat which we liked. Almost like home cooking. We used a navigation system to find it so it was a bit tricky to get to the location.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank living&learnin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Really bad.”
Reviewed August 29, 2011

How unfortunate! My husband and I were so looking forward to trying the fried chicken here. We came in and were seated promptly but the floors were completely filthy (we overlooked this). Our drink orders were taken and we asked for a moment to look at the menu. About 15 minutes later, I was about to give up on our waitress and went to the restroom. Our waitress was seated at a table enjoying her lunch while we still had not given her the order for ours. She didn't notice me so I asked another server if we could give her our order. After some commotion, a waitress came to take our order (we overlooked this, as well). The food came and the chicken was nice and crunchy, the vegetables were just a little sub-par and the biscuits were cute and fluffy. However, when I opened one of the biscuits, there was a large brown object baked into it. Yuck! We had some struggle getting a to-go bag and our check, as well. How disappointing! Even if the food had been good, the service would have overshadowed it!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank SSI_eater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Fl
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“If you walk away hungry it's your own fault!”
Reviewed August 25, 2011

If you're looking for a down home southern resturant, you won't find better than Beach Road Chicken Dinners.
It's certainly not fancy, but this long time Jacksonville institution does what it does better than anyone! Don't even bother with anything else on the menu, just order the family style chicken dinner, served with all the sides. All of it's good, the sides are unlimited, and if you walk away hungry it's your own fault!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rhodesworks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beach Road Chicken Dinners also viewed

Jacksonville, FL
Jacksonville, FL
 
Jacksonville, FL
Jacksonville, FL
 

Been to Beach Road Chicken Dinners? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing