We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never will go back after 10+ years going”
Review of Bono's Pit Bar-B-Q

Bono's Pit Bar-B-Q
Ranked #182 of 2,029 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Never will go back after 10+ years going”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Went for dinner at the original Bono's on Beach Blvd. What a disappointment it has know become a franchise type of restaurant. The BBQ beans now taste like just out of a can. The ribs were not hot and seemed that had been made hours ago. From previous visits you always saw the pit smoking, never saw a puff of smoke out of it. Also, outside you would smell the smoking now nothing. After living in Jax for numerous years and making it a spot to visit on a regular basis never again. Don't waste your time nor your money.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    28
    14
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“love their barbeque”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Every time we visit Jax, we visit Bono's. Delicious, well priced menu with great service. what else would you need from dinner? The sweet and tangy barbeque sauce is the best, in my opinion. I recommend the corn nuggets, brunswick stew, and coleslaw. Any barbeque you order will be exceptional.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michele T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North America
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Bono's quality uneven”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Bono's quality can be uneven depending on which restaurant you visit. I have had good meals at some locations but I have equally had bad meals at others. Barbeque which seemed that it had sat around for a while and dried out, soggy sides and stale bread. Wish I could give this a better review as in the past I have enjoyed Bono's. Just disappointing at too many occasions.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank WanderWoman0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
“They can't seem to get it right or make it right”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

When you pay $28 for a rib meal and a chicken sandwich without any soft drinks, you would hope it would be right. You can get a lot of food at someplace like McDonald's for literally half of that. Of course they might not get it right either but at least you wouldn't feel so bad.
When my wife came home Friday night and opened her take-out bag, both cups of ranch dressing had spilled in the bag.It was a mess. My wife was angry, the more so because she had spoken to a manager after the same thing had happened previously. The sweet potato was bad and the ribs were dry and over cooked.
Over the phone, the manager offered a 10% discount and said the help was not on the same page and it happens sometimes that there is a bad sweet potato. Is it too much to check what you are sending out?

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence-Talbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good BBQ”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Bonos a staple of Jacksonville, always great bbq great place for lunch or quick diner, good service clean consistant food

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bono's Pit Bar-B-Q also viewed

 

Been to Bono's Pit Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing