We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So-So BBQ--Not Terrible, Certainly Not Great” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bono's Pit Bar-B-Q

Bono's Pit Bar-B-Q
Ranked #157 of 1,983 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“So-So BBQ--Not Terrible, Certainly Not Great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

I ordered the "Slawpy Pig" Sandwich ($9.99), a side of fries (came with the sandwich) and a Coca-Cola. The Slawpy Pig Sandwich didn't taste like much and the four different kinds of BBQ sauce on the table didn't help it much. It was just sort of tasteless and only just a bit warm, not hot. The cole slaw was pretty bland, too (and also a bit warm) The fries were OK. I wouldn't go back.

On the positive side: the service was excellent and they were quite generous with the Coca-Cola.

Price: 1 Slawpy Pig Sandwich, side of fries, Coca-Cola + tip = $16.16.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Impossible2Please
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    25
    13
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Angry”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Walked in the door and host informed us we needed our food "TO GO".
He said waitresses had already cleaned for the night.
Plenty of other places to eat than this place.
Management should do mystery guest to see if this happens allot.

Helpful?
Thank Sherry1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
87 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“I like the chicken”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Bono's is another chain. You can pretty much expect the same food at all of their locations. I like their bar-b-que chicken. I have friends who absolutely love it. I am originally from Memphis, TN. It is hard to out-do the barbecue food in Memphis!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valrico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly, homey, good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

When you belly up to the bar at Bono's, you get to see your food being cooked in genuine pit bar-b-q fashion right in front of your eyes. The staff is friendly, the setting is rustic, the food is plentiful, very good and truly authentic and very inexpensive to boot.
Love it!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank keith h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppell, Texas
Level Contributor
110 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“pulled pork sandwich is good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Ate a sandwich lunch here a few days ago and wasn't disappointed. It's called 'slawpy pig' because the kitchen adds cold slaw on top the pulled pork and slaps it shut with a bun. At first I didn't like the idea, but generally it's pretty good. Next time around I may ask that they place the slaw to the side in a manner I thought more suitable first time there. The sandwich ($10) is good enough without adding sauce to supplement it, however, the sauce varieties are tasty as well. I selected a grilled cobb of corn as the side food and can say it's nice and sweet, sufficiently buttered. I found the banana pudding scrumptuous and not over the top because it arrives in a manageable transparent little cup. Lunch here is highly recommended. If I were to complain about anything perhaps the restaurant was far too smokey inside for me. I was coughing until the second day after the visit. Parking is ample. Service is okay bordering on the friendly side, and better still we were in and out of the place in 30 minutes flat with no time wasted.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kwansaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bono's Pit Bar-B-Q also viewed

Jacksonville, FL
 

Been to Bono's Pit Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing