We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bar Bites” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wine Cellar

Wine Cellar
Reserve with OpenTable
Wine Cellar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #63 of 1,983 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $45
Cuisines: American, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Flagler Avenue
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
71 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Bar Bites”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We had a very romantic evening sharing wine and tasty tidbits on the patio. The service is always exemplary and the food is always superb, my wife and I enjoy the Wine Cellar and measure most other restaurants against them.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank peterswc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    39
    18
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food and wine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

I went here on a business dinner. The wine list, I was told, was very good. The crab cakes were awesome, and I got the duck for dinner, which was very good as well. The food was quite pricey, in the $30-45 range. But, the atmosphere was great, and the service was top notch. I'd recommend it for a special occasion, especially if you like wine, or if you are just loaded.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ClutchChemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“You mouth will be very happy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We had a special dinner here tonight with good friends.

First, the good news -- the food was superb. I had the seafood fra diavlo. My wife had the seared mustard glazed scallops. Our honored guests had the salmon and the filet mignon. All good. Karen, our server was appropriately attentive.

Second, the bad news -- the wine prices are off the wall. Our "house white" is Nobilo Sauvignon Blanc. I can pick it up for $10-12 a bottle at any local wine store. At the Wine Cellar they wanted $49 for a bottle. Now, I'm okay at 3.5x retail for a bottle of wine, but 5x? Get real!

Helpful?
1 Thank Papatud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Consistant Quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

On occasion over the last couple of decades, my wife and I have celebrated various occasions with dinner at the Wine Cellar. Recently we reprized to celebrate my wife's birthday.
The cuisine is consistently top notch. Add a pleasant ambiance and attentive service and once again the Wine Cellar delivered with what consistently remains one of the best dining experiences Jacksonville has to offer.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelguru54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
78 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Don't let the location fool you!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

My wife found the Wine Cellar on trip advisor during our stay in Jacksonville, FL. The location is a bit deceiving as it is nestled between a bank and a gas station. The inside décor reflected the inside of a wine cellar which made for a romantic and elegant atmosphere. Our waiter Wayne was excellent and projected the level of service for fine dining! My wife ordered the warm cherry goat cheese balls appetizer, which was an unique and tasty cheese plate. Because my wife is a vegetarian, the chef created a special pasta dish that was not on the menu. The dish looked and tasted amazing! For my appetizer I ordered the creole style crab and lobster bisque. Simply incredible! For my main course I ordered the trio of flavors which consisted of scallops, shrimp stuff with crab and beef tenderloin. Also included was sautéed arugula, creamed corn and dauphinoise potato's. The whole plate was absolutely fantastic!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Procomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wine Cellar also viewed

 
Jacksonville, FL
 

Been to Wine Cellar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing