We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and ambience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bistro AIX

Bistro AIX
Reserve with OpenTable
Bistro AIX is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #57 of 1,983 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Phillips Street
Description: Inspired by unforgettable meals served at cozy bistros in the South of France, Bistro AIX brings together European cooking techniques and seasonal ingredients to create award-winning French-inspired comfort food. An inspired juxtaposition of antiques and contemporary pieces gives the restaurant its distinctive look, while engaging and knowledgeable servers ensure an exceptional dining experience.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food and ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

My wife and I had lunch with a friend here. As usual the place was packed but the staffvwas very friendly and seated us quickly. All three meals were served promptly ( given the full restaurant) and all three meals were very tasty. Our waiter didn't hover but was there each time to refill our drinks. It is a bit on the pricey side but worth the visit

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tomnaples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    100
    40
    22
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orange Park, Florida
Level Contributor
108 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Inconsistent!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

I've been to AIX about a half dozen times and my experiences have varied greatly. On my first visit, the food was very good and the service was excellent. On my last visit the food was okay and the service was poor. On the visits in between nothing was every really good overall nor did I have a poor experience.

I've kept going back because I love the atmosphere but the lack of consistency for a fairly pricey restaurant is unacceptable. This place has all the makings to be a consistently great dining experience but the restaurant just can't see to get there. Get it together or I'll take my hard earned money elsewhere.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Delicious food and great ambiance!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

We had a Valentines Dinner at Bistro AIX and as of today we still talk about it. Their food is very nicely done and the service is also very good. We had a waitress that was very proactive and also gave us nice recommendations for wine. The duck is amazing! Its a great place to go in Jacksonville.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank R_H-Bonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

The food was very good, the service was great and the place had very nice feel. There were a lot of people there and it was very crowded, but the place is laid out in a way that you feel like you are having a private dinner. Great Place to eat.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank twright17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

We go here frequently and food is amazing. The food quality is always consistent and staff is attentive. The menu is pricey, but is a nice dining experience.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro AIX also viewed

Jacksonville, FL
Jacksonville, FL
 

Been to Bistro AIX? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing