We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of Black Sheep

Black Sheep
Reserve with OpenTable
Black Sheep is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 2,029 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Oak St.
Description: Black Sheep is an independent restaurant located in Jacksonville"s historic 5-Points in Riverside. Our focus is on fresh, local ingredients, hand-crafted food, and gracious service. We offer a full bar, signature cocktails, craft beers and an excellent wine list. We offer fast-casual lunch Monday through Friday, dinner Monday through Saturday, and brunch Saturday and Sunday.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Awesome food. Loved the cardamom pancakes and sausage. Try to get a rooftop table if weather permits beautiful Jacksonville views (as seen in the pics). Wonderful mimosa's as well. Great experience. Service was satisfactory not overly amazing but I wasn't really there for that. Great Great riverside location as well.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wynton H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    124
    47
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Tasty and authentic”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Having just arrived in town we followed up on a recommendation from our host. This was really a pleasant surprise. Ingredients are sourced locally and they even have their own farm for their meats. I had chicken on a bed of grits and sprouting broccoli with a fragrant and sharp green salsa - v. tasty. Husband had Red Snapper with clams and other stuff to made a lovely fish stew. The slices of home-made sausage gave the whole dish a fabulous flavour.
Good selection of wines by the glass and we haven't even mentioned the roof bar. I popped up to have a quick peak and this is well worth it. Ask to sit here when you arrive! We'll come again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Duck4360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATLANTIC BEACH
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Really good food and wine. Classy,lively.”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Great food and wine choices. Location fun and exciting. Wines a little expensive per glass. Better order a bottle. Great pre or post for movies at sunray cinema

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
320 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Two Words: Rooftop Bar!!!!!”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

The rooftop bar at Black Sheep is spectacular, inviting, comfortably-trendy and is not to be missed!! The service, drinks, atmosphere and vibe provide a fun, relaxed and intimate experience. The view is exceptional.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
360 reviews
298 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 394 helpful votes
“Food was Great! Service very Slow and Disorganized!”
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Went for Brunch on Easter. The starters we selected were the fried olives and fried green tomatoes. Both were wonderful. I know the olives sounds unusual but they were great. My wife and I had poached eggs with a spinach side salad. Again excellent.
However, the service left a lot to be desired. The restaurant was only about two-thirds full ( after 2:00PM ) and service was disorganized to say the least. There certainly was enough front house staff. It appears that they cross service zones, are attentive to non productive interactions and lose track of drink and food orders. I hear this is a popular restaurant in the evenings and can only imagine the service problems then. Management isn't on top of this situation and I would guess dollars are walking out the door both in actuality and in repeat business.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank nole38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Sheep also viewed

 

Been to Black Sheep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing