We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tony D's New York Pizza

Tony D's New York Pizza
Ranked #146 of 1,983 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chesapeake Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We were in JAX on business staying in a hotel. We had a 'hankerin' for pizza, so I googled. I read the reviews on this place and we decided to try it. It was wonderful! Nice crust, not too much sauce and perfect amount of cheese. We tried to Meatball Parm, if you are ok with Ricotta cheese, try it. AMAZING!! We did NOT eat in, and when we told them we were staying in a hotel, they provided paper plates and extra napkins. Definetly awesome pizza!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MouseinVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    12
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodbine, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Real New York style, right here in Jacksonville”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

This place makes great pies - thin crust, delicious sauce, great toppings. The "special" is my favorite! They also make fantastic garlic knots. If you're stopping for lunch, come early (i.e. abour 11:00 - 11:15AM) if you can - this place fills up early!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, FL
Level Contributor
103 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Closest Thing To NY Pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

My husband and I grew up eating NY Pizza. Tony the owner is from Long Island and has perfected the art of being able to produce NY tasting pizza here in Florida. Besides great pizza there is an amazing Monday night pasta deal with pasta, a salad and a slice of NY cheesecake all for under $10.00. There is a large menu with chicken dishes, traditional Italian dishes, stromboli and HUGE calzones. There are also daily specials. The location is tucked away in a small strip of shops behind a Walgreens so you need to pay attention. The place is very clean, and casual. Jason along with the rest of their wait staff are always friendly. We recently moved a little further from Tony D's and picked up a pizza bag so we can still get hot pizza to go if we aren't dinning in. You should certainly give this place a shot.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank happycouple02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toano, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“LOVE the meat lovers pizze”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

When we are in Jacksonville, this is a "must go" for their pizza. Others in our party of 5 adore the pasta.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank F00dieCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Best pizza in Jax!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Tony D's is handsdown my favorite pizza joint in Jax. I LOVE real pizza. I find it very difficult to find a pizza place that has a combination of good tasting crust that I want to eat and not leave on the plate, thin and not over powering sauce, and great tasting cheese. This is how pizza should be. You shouldn't be able to take a slice of pizza, throw it against a wall, and it still be intact, like you can do with chain restaurant pizza. It's not natural. Tony D's has the winning combination for my pizza taste buds. I've never dined in. My husband and I always get pizza to go. It can get quite pricey depending on what you order, but you get what you pay for -real quality ingredients. Two 14 inch extra cheese pizzas can run around 25 bucks, but it's worth it. A tip to make things cheaper: Tuesday is 2 for 1. Fantastic deal I must say. My husband and I usually just get extra cheese because the cheese is so incredible. We've had and used to get the typical toppings like pineapple, bacon, pepperoni, sausage, and mushroom. The pizza really doesn't need any toppings though. We always end up going back to the extra cheese because it's so tasty it can stand on it's own. They really pack it on and make a nice thick layer. It's always really gooey and if really really hot, it starts to slowly..... slowly.... slide when you pick it up. This isn't a bad thing, it's a good thing!! That's what real quality cheese is supposed to do. Cheese shouldn't stay put on a piece of pizza when you turn it upside down. C'mon now. The crust is flavorful and not too thin and not too thick. The sauce is always put on in a nice thin layer and I never feel like I have to scrape any excess off. They have a bunch of speciality pizzas as well. We've only had the Meatball Parm Pizza, which is incredible. It has a ton of huge sliced meatballs, cheese, and big dollups of ricotta on top. So good. It's so filling that this one pizza could feed 2 people and be completely stuffed. I hope Tony D's sticks around for a long time because it'll be hard finding another pizza joint that is as great as this one is.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank snowfaery5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tony D's New York Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Tony D's New York Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing