We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid!”
Review of Carmines Pie House

Carmines Pie House
Ranked #29 of 2,038 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Hickory, North Carolina, United States
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Solid!”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

My wife, sister, and myself enjoyed a nice meal on a Friday evening. Blown away by the cleanliness as well as the wait staff. My wife enjoyed a Greek Island salad but wasn't completely blown away. My sister and I shared a Frenchy pizza which was really good. Great place! Will have to try one of their specialties next time!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NathanielW870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    48
    11
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Deposit, Alabama
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Great service and great food!! The restaurant is very funky with stuff everywhere. You do have to wait a little for the food, but thy do everything fresh so It is worth the wait!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Funky, funky!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Carmine's was one of the restaurants on my current short list to try. The number and variety of restaurants in Riverside/Avondale has exploded so much, I hadn't been able to check out Carmine's until last night. Located in the Park/King area (where a lot is going on), Carmine's is in a nondescript converted convenience store building. It's the perfect placation and size for a restaurant of its type. I was blown away by the selection of beer on tap as well as the crazy, extensive menu. If you can't find something that you want to eat here, you simply can't eat. As a vegetarian, I was also really happy about the extent to which almost everything can be prepared in a veg-friendly. Way. But for carnivores, plenty of offer too. Their kitchen is tiny, tiny - how they are able to prepare so much different food is amazing. We skipped the pizza this time (although what we saw coming out of the kitchen looked awesome) and started with the crispy tofu appetizer (which could be a chicken wing substitute with the same sauce) and then on to the manicotti. The portion sizes were enormous and the food was absolutely delicious. Going back soon for a nice pizza!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“My favorite neighborhood eatery!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Something for everyone... Pizza, wings, sandwiches, salads and pasta (pasta after 5pm weekdays). Portions big enough to share or have for lunch the next day. Eclectic decor and bohemian atmosphere. We had the Cuban and Wings and shared a salad and left very happy for the umpteenth time.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CaseyB809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great selection of unique pizza combinations”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Their selection of pizza is amazing. I love the 'Tony Montana'. It is like a Cuban sandwich on a pizza. Delicious. Their salads are huge. Tried several pizzas and all are good so far. NYC Cheesesteak sub is very tasty. Service is excellent. Desserts are baked by a local bakery and are to die for.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Overman4UT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmines Pie House also viewed

 
Jacksonville, FL
Jacksonville, FL
 
Jacksonville, FL
Jacksonville, FL
 

Been to Carmines Pie House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing