We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small but beautiful inside and out” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cummer Museum of Art and Gardens

The Cummer Museum of Art and Gardens
Ranked #3 of 165 things to do in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our mission is to engage and inspire through the arts, gardens and education.The Cummer Museum of Art & Gardens, built on the site of the home of Arthur and Ninah Cummer, opened its doors November 10, 1961. From Ninah Cummer's relatively small collection of sixty pieces that launched the museum, The Cummer's permanent collection has grown to over six thousand works of art encompassing eight thousand years of art history.
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
131 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Small but beautiful inside and out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stopped by to kill a couple of hours on our way to a flight out of JAX. We were delighted by the special cars exhibit they have showing now...concept art drawings from decades past and several amazingly gleaming real old restored or prototype cars in the gallery. The gardens are small but very lovely, overlooking the river. The other galleries had a good sampling of pieces from different eras. We are very glad we stopped.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Csaw712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    569
    216
    35
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful Gardens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Went for the Impressionists Exhibit and fell in love with the Gardens. I even took my lunch from the cafe outside to sit under the huge oak....heaven! Oh yeah....the art was good too!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank sparker926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Always enjoy the gardens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

I like to go to the Cummer on Tuesdays from 4-7pm when it's free. Sometimes there's live music in the hall near the small cafe which is cute & has a limited but good menu. The museum is not that big & since I took a tour & have been there a few times, I only see a few galleries, or what's new & the gardens. I like to check out the gift shop too.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank M0llygma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, FL
Level Contributor
103 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Jacksonville's Secret Museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

The Cummner Museum offers ever changing displays of famous art collections in a very intimate setting. You are able to get up close and spend time admiring favorite pieces because the crowds level always seems manageable. If you check on line, they offer free days, student discounts and many other ways that make it affordable for everyone to experience viewing many different types of exhibits. The museum also has beautiful gardens. Parking is free and it is very easy to get to the museum.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank happycouple02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teaticket, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best four hours ever spent at a museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had beautiful weather and it was a wonderful experience . Not overpowering like MFA. Gardens accessible if in wheelchair or walker. Great views in garden and exhibits are easily seen. Eating area adequate and clean. Staff friendly. Great 4 hour trip !

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank newviking2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cummer Museum of Art and Gardens also viewed

 

Been to The Cummer Museum of Art and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing