We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unlike anything I've ever seen” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Catty Shack Ranch Wildlife Sanctuary

Catty Shack Ranch Wildlife Sanctuary
Ranked #1 of 165 things to do in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Catty Shack Ranch Wildlife Sanctuary is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization. Our mission is to provide a safe, loving, forever home for endangered big cats, and to educate the public about their plight in the wild and captivity. We do not breed, sell, or trade any of our animals. Our current residents include tigers, lions, cougars, leopards, bobcats, foxes, and coatimundis (the last two are "honorary cats"). We are only open on select days, and last admittance is 45 minutes before closing, so please check our website for the most up-to-date information.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase
Perth
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unlike anything I've ever seen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

We just returned from the night visit at Catty Shack. Highly recommend visiting on a Friday or Saturday night when the cats are very awake and waiting to be fed. There were many to see, up very close and in constant movement. You are given a guided tour, and we found the volunteer extremely knowledgeable and enthusiastic. The night feeding was fascinating to watch. We tvisited with a 6 and 9 year old and adults - all found it a great experience.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank AmriMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    902
    152
    40
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plainfield, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

Enjoyed our visit. Staff was so friendly and appreciative of our visit. Staff was all passionate about the cats. Animals were very well cared for. Concerns about safety were quickly put to rest. Cats were well contained with plenty of roaming room. Captivity is never the idea living condition, but the Catty Shack Ranch is so much better than what the cats came from. The enclosures all had high fences with the tops also enclosed. There was also a fenced buffer zone between the visitors and the cat's enclosures. No chance of a child or someone else putting a hand into the cage. Catty Shack can only provide this quality of care as long as the public continue to visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Beverly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Cove Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very Catty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

This is not your ordinary run-of-the-mill wildlife sanctuary. This is a dedicated forever homes for over 45 large cats (Lions, Tigers, Cougars). The volunteers that run it are well-trained and extremely knowledgeable and tell you about each individual cat. The night feeding is a definitely MUST. To see the way these animals behave was nothing short of extraordinary. They all have their our personality and they DEFINATELY know when it is time to eat. Will have to go again and bring the rest of the family.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Kidsof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Lots of Animals to see and they were all well taken care of. It’s more of a sanctuary than a zoo which is great as the animals care seem to be the priority not putting them on exhibit. We got a great tour and for the middle of the afternoon the cats were very active.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank sam m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Surreal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Went for the night feeding on October 26th. First time visit. Blown away by how close you got to the animals, how many big cats they had, and how active they were. Very affordable, a must visit. Can't wait to go again!

Helpful?
4 Thank ABJag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catty Shack Ranch Wildlife Sanctuary also viewed

 

Been to Catty Shack Ranch Wildlife Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing