We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the most unusual things to do in JAX”

Catty Shack Ranch Wildlife Sanctuary
Ranked #1 of 168 things to do in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Catty Shack Ranch Wildlife Sanctuary is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization. Our mission is to provide a safe, loving, forever home for endangered big cats, and to educate the public about their plight in the wild and captivity. We do not breed, sell, or trade any of our animals. Our current residents include tigers, lions, cougars, leopards, bobcats, foxes, and coatimundis (the last two are "honorary cats"). We are only open on select days, and last admittance is 45 minutes before closing,
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“One of the most unusual things to do in JAX”
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Although JAX has a very nice zoo, going to Catty Shack Ranch is a much more rewarding experience. You can get close to the animals and benefit from the experience of volunteers who are dedicated to ensuring these wild animals have a home for life. There are beautiful lions, tigers and leopards to see and you can spend as much time as you want with them. The Ranch also offers special events like a Roar and Snore -- which enables you to view night feedings, participate in a BBQ, sleep among the animals and wake up to a nice breakfast. Lots of fun for kids too. Do yourself and the animals a favor and visit!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Rick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennadelane, Volunteer at Catty Shack Ranch Wildlife Sanctuary, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Thanks for the kind words, it means a lot to us! We love those animals and try very hard to give them the best life possible. Thanks so much for coming by and spending some time with them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    948
    155
    40
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We had a great time at Catty Shack. It is so unzoolike in a good way. You are so much closer to the animals and get a more realistic feel for their size. The volunteers provide a wealth of information and answer any question. While we were there, the owner went into a few of the enclosures and played with the cats, it was amazing to see.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank CandiceBriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Better than I expected.”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

First, apperance is not everything so I ask before you post a bad review, go inside. You have to get inside to fully appreciate this place. I visited for the first time with my daughter for the Roar and Snore and the night time "entertainment" was worth the price. You can tell the emphasis is on the animals and they are well cared for and the volunteers were great. I highly recommend visiting, but check the hours first, they are all volunteers so they are limited for tours.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank pbmcc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennadelane, Volunteer at Catty Shack Ranch Wildlife Sanctuary, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Thanks so much for coming to the Roar N'Snore! We had so much fun and are so glad you did too! And thanks for taking the time to post a review! Hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville NC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Insider Review by former Volunteer”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

The Catty Shack Ranch is a unique experience you cannot find a typical zoo. Because the facility is family-operated and volunteer-driven, the folks giving you a tour know the residents like family. I volunteered for seven years at the Ranch and fell in love with each resident. At first, you think you'll never learn every animals' name, but as you work beside them and spend hours watching them play, you come to know the eccentricities of each animal. You learn that Nokia (the white female) is a true diva who won't step in a puddle to get to a steak. You learn that Freddy, the lion, one of the largest residents, is actually the most friendly. You learn that cougar cubs have a high-pitched giggle of greeting when they are under 6 months old that is the most endearing sound you will ever hear. You learn that there are people in this world that will dedicate their entire lives to saving animals in need, and Curt (the Director) is one of those people - as are scores of volunteers who have given thousands of hours to the residents, like Kim and Diana. Don't miss the Ranch, it's magic and an amazing bargain at just $10/visit!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank kris3751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spectacular place to enjoy wild cats.”
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We loved this place. You can tell the animals are very loved. We enjoyed watching the cubs play as well. We will definitely go back.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catty Shack Ranch Wildlife Sanctuary also viewed

 

Been to Catty Shack Ranch Wildlife Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing