We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Greek!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Nick The Greek - CLOSED

Nick The Greek
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
357 reviews
295 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 390 helpful votes
“Great Greek!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Went with friends. Stayed for several hours discussing all types of issues. Couldn't have had better service. I had a Greek omelette which was wonderful. Highly recommend that you go if in Atlantic Beach.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank nole38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    20
    9
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Authentic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

If you like authentic Greek food, then you'll like this place. It reminded me a lot of my visit to Crete. There is a small area outside and inside to eat, but I think they are trying to expand to a much larger space next to them.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Cagey215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Depends on what you order”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

I should have ordered a gyro, or the wonderful-looking moussaka that passed our table, or what my husband got (the shrimp, except over rice instead of over pasta). That was yummy!

I wanted the house soup and a greek salad, so I got those and a Mediterranean plate with a variety of appetizers. The soup was bland (it perked up with a squeeze of lemon), the salad was rather ordinary (to be fair it was billed as a "side salad", so I should have expected mostly lettuce). Of the appetizers, the falafel were stupendous, the dolmades rather small, greasy and flavorless and, sadly, I like the hummus at Costco better.

Like I said, it depends on what you order. The Orange Bread Pudding was to die for: light, fluffy, with a subtle orange flavor and a delicious orange sauce. [Celiac alert: there are no gluten-free desserts, and the menu as a whole is a bit difficult - but possible, and they work with you.]

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank missmyvw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
93 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Never disappointed! Great Food every time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Nick the Greek's is one of the best little eatery in Atlantic Beach, FL. The Gyro's are out of this world, no skimping on fixins' in these! Awesome taste... If you get lucky enough and catch Nick when he makes his Pork and Cabbage, you will be in for a real treat! This is top notch and one of my favorite's!! Nick's is worth the trip, for the great food at reasonable prices, the fun service and the ultimate "hole in the wall" atmosphere! Get there now!!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank oscmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Greeks had us laughing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

The best little corner Greek restarant to grab a Gyro and the Greek fries are best fries I ever ate, even cold. You need to go here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Foodacholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nick The Greek also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing